Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very tasty...did not add pimentos because I didn't have any. I reduced the sugar some but it could easily be reduced by half in not more without affecting the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
ok salad, maybe I was hoping it would taste more like a marinated salad I get from Dixie Cafe. Too vinegary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi N Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steele, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Although I made some changes, this is a spectacular tasting salad! First, I used 1 1/2 cups each of frozen green beans & corn instead of canned (one reviewer asked if they should be cooked first - no, simply put into a strainer, run under water and toss into bowl. This keeps them crisp!) I also added a can of 5 bean medley (Unico brand), didn't use pimentos, used red pepper instead of green, 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup and 2 tbsp of onion powder instead of onion because my husband can't eat onions. What a great tasting salad for summer! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This tasted OK but it looked horrible. I made it just as stated in recipe (only halfing dressing) and it just looked ugly. I will not make this again unless I use all fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I didn't give it 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe. Instead of making my own dressing for the salad, I just used Italian dressing and it was delicious!!! I used 1 can green beans, 1 can corn, 4 small celery stalks chopped up, about 1/2 cup of chopped carrots, and 1/2 an onion chopped up. I then mixed it with about 1/2 cup of Italian dressing. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was able to use garden fresh green beans from my father, as well as some various peppers he had grown in his garden, it was a big hit with the in-law family, so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm sorry but we didn't like this at all. It was WAY too sweet and we weren't a fan of the sweet/vinegary concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This OK but it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I loved this, made it for a family cookout and everyone wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made this to take to a BBQ where they were serving rib. This was the PERFECT accompaniment. Everyone raved about it. No leftovers. I have made this a couple of times since and is just doggone good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States