Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very tasty...did not add pimentos because I didn't have any. I reduced the sugar some but it could easily be reduced by half in not more without affecting the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
ok salad, maybe I was hoping it would taste more like a marinated salad I get from Dixie Cafe. Too vinegary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi N Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steele, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Although I made some changes, this is a spectacular tasting salad! First, I used 1 1/2 cups each of frozen green beans & corn instead of canned (one reviewer asked if they should be cooked first - no, simply put into a strainer, run under water and toss into bowl. This keeps them crisp!) I also added a can of 5 bean medley (Unico brand), didn't use pimentos, used red pepper instead of green, 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup and 2 tbsp of onion powder instead of onion because my husband can't eat onions. What a great tasting salad for summer! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This tasted OK but it looked horrible. I made it just as stated in recipe (only halfing dressing) and it just looked ugly. I will not make this again unless I use all fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I didn't give it 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe. Instead of making my own dressing for the salad, I just used Italian dressing and it was delicious!!! I used 1 can green beans, 1 can corn, 4 small celery stalks chopped up, about 1/2 cup of chopped carrots, and 1/2 an onion chopped up. I then mixed it with about 1/2 cup of Italian dressing. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was able to use garden fresh green beans from my father, as well as some various peppers he had grown in his garden, it was a big hit with the in-law family, so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm sorry but we didn't like this at all. It was WAY too sweet and we weren't a fan of the sweet/vinegary concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This OK but it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I loved this, made it for a family cookout and everyone wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made this to take to a BBQ where they were serving rib. This was the PERFECT accompaniment. Everyone raved about it. No leftovers. I have made this a couple of times since and is just doggone good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States