Green Bean Salad with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I went looking for a green bean salad and this one fit the bill, but I wanted one that focused on the green beans so the main adaptation I made was to leave out the mixed salad greens. I used a pound of green beans, which I cooked al dente as directed. I made a dressing out of 1 tbsp olive oil, the orange juice and balsamic, and substituted pine nuts for the fennel. I halved the feta and used 1/4 cup of dried cranberries. I tossed all the ingredients together, and voila, a green bean salad focusing on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was a nice change from just plain salad and just plain green beans. I did not like the fennel seeds in it though. I used the orange flavored "Craisins" and that really complimented the orange juice already in the recipe. I love the feta in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a great salad. The only thing we changed was using dried cherries instead of dried cranberries and only because we prefer dried cherries over cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
It was an okay salad. Wouldn't be very interesting without the cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is a great salad! I used more beans than baby lettuce- and even added chunks of fresh orange. Following our reviewer, I added pine nuts. The cranberries were very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I was looking for something different for green beans...this was a great change. I tossed cooked green beans with the feta, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and orange juice. Then I added sliced grape tomatoes and some slivered almonds I had on hand. What a yummy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I didn't make this with lettuce. I wanted just a green bean recipe and this isn't it. I'm sure if it was with the salad it would be far better. I was hoping for more of an orange taste in the dressing with the fennel but the balsamic overpowered it completely. thanks but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! I'd give this five stars, but I changed a few things in the recipe. I omitted the fennel seeds and added pine nuts, and instead of using orange juice I melted some orange juice concentrate from the can. It was a very yummy salad, and my 8 yo dd declared it one of her new favorites. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
change the fennel to pine nuts, the feta to goat cheese, and it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used some sliced almonds in place of fennel (as I don't like fennel). I omitted the dried cranberries and squeezed half a fresh orange . I steamed the fresh green beans in the microwave with alot of garlic. deliciously healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States