Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This was really simple and quick to make. I served it over a bed of rice and didn't add the full amounts of soy sauce and sugar. It was still sweet. I thought it was pretty good for how easy it is to make. I wouldn't say it's one of my favorites, but it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Quick, easy and tasty. Great for a quick weeknight meal. I used fresh green beans and I suppose canned or, even better yet, frozen would work just as well. I will definitely make this again although I will reduce the amount of soya sauce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
My husband doesn't care for green beans, but he loved this dish! Fabulous one-dish meal over rice. I added some black pepper to the meat before cooking. There was too much sauce at the end, so I added 1 TBS corn starch & water to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My personal additions/substitutions: Ground turkey for ground beef; canned French cut green beans for whole; tamari sauce instead of soy sauce; honey for sugar. Also added carrots since I needed to get rid of them. Amounts were all used as measured (for 2 servings), though. All in all, this tasted good - I think the sweetness of the carrots mixed with the honey might have added something, and I also let the meat and veggies sear slightly in the pan to add a slightly smoky flavor. I ate it over ramen noodles with a dash of vinegar, and that tasted good - I suspect it might be equally good over rice, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like to make this recipe with a can of stewed or diced tomatoes added at the last 5 minutes. Otherwise, it's a little bland. With the tomatoes, it's just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Easy, very easy and handy as a last-minute meal. My husband and 15 month old son loved it and ate tons, I had no leftovers. I actually added a bit more soy sauce than called for, since I use Aloha soy sauce and it's less salty. Served over japanese sticky rice, it's a good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I served this over rice. it was pretty good. A bit sweet even though I cut the sugar in half! My kids liked so that alone makes this one a repeater. **update** I served the leftovers stuffed in sweet peppers topped with a bit of cheese. This was WONDERFUL. I think this may become my standard pepper stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
We had this as kids growing up, served over steamed rice, only my Dad used slightly thawed mixed frozen veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and a dash of white pepper. Wow, brings back memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I also grew up eating this dish. I never liked veggies but the sweetness of this made me like it. My son also loves it. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I combined many of the recommendations and then went by taste. I thought I had green beans in the freezer but they were an oriental vegetable blend (which worked well but I think I could have used 2 bags instead of 1). I used tomatoes, onion, garlic (fresh), then added in Emerel spices. I made a cold bow tie pasta but you definitely need 2 hot items with this dish. The next day I made some smashed potatoes and used this to go over it. I also added some sezchaun sauce and that gave it a little pizzaz! Anyway this goes great over potatoe! The first night it fed 3 people (plus some pasta) and then there was just enough left for 2 people for leftovers the next night. It was a good recipe to start off with and then expand on based on your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States