Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This reminds me of a dish called Ganbian doujiao in Chinese, pretty much the same thing but with ground pork (which I used instead of beef) and it's spicy and sweet. I used extra dark soy sauce because it's all I had and the dish came out black! It looked intimidating but good nonetheless. Goes great with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This is a definite keeper! It was super easy and even my "I don't eat meat" daughter loved it! I used canned green beans (the no salt kind) instead of fresh and it made it much faster for the time conscience person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very good! It's a unique dish. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Updated: I now serve it over rice; it makes for a more complete meal. But I only cook the beans about 5 minutes or so then take off the lid so there's more juice left for the rice. Then cook uncovered just a few minutes longer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I first submitted a review for this recipe 6 years ago when we were a family of 3. Two children and 6 years later, this is still big on our list! We've made a few healthier adjustments as I've adjusted this recipe to work with the Trim Healthy Mama plan. I subbed the soy sauce for Bragg's Liquid Aminos (tastes the SAME) and subbed the sugar for Stevia (not 1:1). It came out better than I expected, the kids (and parents) gobbled it up, and no unnecessary spike to anyone's blood sugar, yay! Our children enjoy this over brown rice, makes for a hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I thought that this was a little sweet, although my wife and son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Very good. Very quick! My husband and newphew ate is up! I served over rice, and as others suggested, added minced garlic and minced ginger. I did put the soy sauce in with the water to steam the beans, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Really pretty good and so quick and easy. I added 3 carrots and 1/2 a sweet onion as well as 2 extra Tbsp. sugar. After the dish sat though, I regretted the extra sugar. It seemed to sweeten overnight. So, I went ahead and added some rice in the morning and some extra soy sauce. All in all, it was good though. Kind of syrupy sweet, the sauce reminded me of when syrup from pancakes runs over on your sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My personal additions/substitutions: Ground turkey for ground beef; canned French cut green beans for whole; tamari sauce instead of soy sauce; honey for sugar. Also added carrots since I needed to get rid of them. Amounts were all used as measured (for 2 servings), though. All in all, this tasted good - I think the sweetness of the carrots mixed with the honey might have added something, and I also let the meat and veggies sear slightly in the pan to add a slightly smoky flavor. I ate it over ramen noodles with a dash of vinegar, and that tasted good - I suspect it might be equally good over rice, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I was anxious to try this recipe but I was left feeling disappointed. My boyfriend and I both thought it was bland and not very impressive, even after I added onions and a bit of garlic. We didn't hate it, we just agreed that it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I omit the sugar since it was needed and added more fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States