Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I would use Beef Stew Meat Add Some Italian Summer Savory, And cut down on the sugar and Soy (It adds too many calories and Salt)Also a personal pref is to use beer for the liquid as the alcohol is evaporated while cooking and adds to the flavor But that's what recipes are for "Experimentation"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is one of the best recipes I have and one the of the easiest! It works great for South Beach Diet too with sugar substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
yum! Sounded kind of one-dimensional,so I mixed some dried chopped onions into the ground beef before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Chopped fresh basil certainly improves this simple, time-saving dish. I'll probably add some black-bean sauce next time. I sauteed onion and garlic with only 1/2 lb. ground beef too. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very interesting dish. I made it and my husband and I weren't crazy about it, but the more you eat of it, the more you like it! I will make it again but with less sugar next time. Update: I was out of green beans so I made it with broccoli, 1/2 Tbs of brown sugar, half an onion, and some spicy pepper paste. Wow! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I combined many of the recommendations and then went by taste. I thought I had green beans in the freezer but they were an oriental vegetable blend (which worked well but I think I could have used 2 bags instead of 1). I used tomatoes, onion, garlic (fresh), then added in Emerel spices. I made a cold bow tie pasta but you definitely need 2 hot items with this dish. The next day I made some smashed potatoes and used this to go over it. I also added some sezchaun sauce and that gave it a little pizzaz! Anyway this goes great over potatoe! The first night it fed 3 people (plus some pasta) and then there was just enough left for 2 people for leftovers the next night. It was a good recipe to start off with and then expand on based on your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Everybody especially my picky father in law loved this recipe. I added finely diced onions and carrots. I used beef broth instead of water, but next time I'll use sodium free broth because it came out a little salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Yum. I used canned Italian-cut green beans (no need to cook as long) and splenda in place of sugar. Very good, I'll definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Absolutely WONDERFUL!! I cut the sugar by 1 tablespoon and it was still sweet, added garlic, ginger and carrots. Great way to use ground beef and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This reminds me of a dish called Ganbian doujiao in Chinese, pretty much the same thing but with ground pork (which I used instead of beef) and it's spicy and sweet. I used extra dark soy sauce because it's all I had and the dish came out black! It looked intimidating but good nonetheless. Goes great with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States