Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I used frozen green beans, which I cooked according to the package while I browned the beef. While I combined the two, I replaced the 1 c of water in the recipe with 2 TBL of sake. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I found this edible but bland, even after adding red pepper flake and garlic powder generously. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was good and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Even if you like green beans to begin with! Very reminiscent of the Japanese flavor I love! Big hit in this household. Will definitely make again exactly as recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Just like my grandma makes! I halved the sugar and seasoned the beef with salt, pepper, and garlic. Comfort food over rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBUCHANAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
AMAZING !!! My girls & I love love LOVE this, have made it tons of times. Sounds a little weird, but worth a try I promise ! Over time you'll be able to adjust the amount of sugar / soy amounts to suit your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lisenbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is just too sweet for me and my family. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksmom77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was fantastic. Served it on rice with mixed (frozen) veg on the side. Quick, fuss-free and no leftovers - a winner in my house! Txs for the recipe. PS I made it as is, no problems with taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowfreeze_Sorbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a good, fairly standard okazu recipe, adapted for the American kitchen. The sugar/soy sauce ratio is a little off, but I fixed that when I made it my substituting 1 tbsp of mirin rather than using sugar. I generally use a 3:1 soy to sugar/mirin ratio for okazu. I also generally add minced garlic and ginger (about 1 tbsp each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My teen and pre-teen both LOVED this! I followed a couple of reviewers suggestions by adding a Tbsp of minced garlic to the ground beef, around a half tsp of crushed red pepper, and a few dashes of onion powder for a bit more flavor. I also used reduced sodium soy sauce and served this over sticky (sushi) rice. We will definitely have this again. Excellent! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States