Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was a tasty, easy meal. I didn't have access to fresh green beans, so I used canned and didn't cook it quite as long. I served over instant brown rice and my picky eaters lapped it all up! Due to the one pot prep and the addition of soy sauce, my husband thought he was getting Oriental, which pleased him as well. I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
We had this as kids growing up, served over steamed rice, only my Dad used slightly thawed mixed frozen veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and a dash of white pepper. Wow, brings back memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This was awesome! My husband loved it and suggested it had a beef jerky kind of taste. My 2 year old gobbled it down. Defintely suggest trying it with fresh beans, they made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
My husband doesn't care for green beans, but he loved this dish! Fabulous one-dish meal over rice. I added some black pepper to the meat before cooking. There was too much sauce at the end, so I added 1 TBS corn starch & water to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I also grew up eating this dish. I never liked veggies but the sweetness of this made me like it. My son also loves it. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like to make this recipe with a can of stewed or diced tomatoes added at the last 5 minutes. Otherwise, it's a little bland. With the tomatoes, it's just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I cut back to 1/8 cup of sugar. The kids just loved it. Mommy and Daddy did too. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONIGL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
My family loved this. It's so simple, but very tasty. We just ate it plain (w/out rice) because I didn't have time to make the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I used a bit more soy sauce and served over rice. Very Good - but most importantly - my 3 year old not only ate but ENJOYED Green Beans!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States