Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This was really simple and quick to make. I served it over a bed of rice and didn't add the full amounts of soy sauce and sugar. It was still sweet. I thought it was pretty good for how easy it is to make. I wouldn't say it's one of my favorites, but it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Quick, easy and tasty. Great for a quick weeknight meal. I used fresh green beans and I suppose canned or, even better yet, frozen would work just as well. I will definitely make this again although I will reduce the amount of soya sauce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
My husband doesn't care for green beans, but he loved this dish! Fabulous one-dish meal over rice. I added some black pepper to the meat before cooking. There was too much sauce at the end, so I added 1 TBS corn starch & water to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My personal additions/substitutions: Ground turkey for ground beef; canned French cut green beans for whole; tamari sauce instead of soy sauce; honey for sugar. Also added carrots since I needed to get rid of them. Amounts were all used as measured (for 2 servings), though. All in all, this tasted good - I think the sweetness of the carrots mixed with the honey might have added something, and I also let the meat and veggies sear slightly in the pan to add a slightly smoky flavor. I ate it over ramen noodles with a dash of vinegar, and that tasted good - I suspect it might be equally good over rice, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Easy, very easy and handy as a last-minute meal. My husband and 15 month old son loved it and ate tons, I had no leftovers. I actually added a bit more soy sauce than called for, since I use Aloha soy sauce and it's less salty. Served over japanese sticky rice, it's a good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like to make this recipe with a can of stewed or diced tomatoes added at the last 5 minutes. Otherwise, it's a little bland. With the tomatoes, it's just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I also grew up eating this dish. I never liked veggies but the sweetness of this made me like it. My son also loves it. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
We had this as kids growing up, served over steamed rice, only my Dad used slightly thawed mixed frozen veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and a dash of white pepper. Wow, brings back memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I served this over rice. it was pretty good. A bit sweet even though I cut the sugar in half! My kids liked so that alone makes this one a repeater. **update** I served the leftovers stuffed in sweet peppers topped with a bit of cheese. This was WONDERFUL. I think this may become my standard pepper stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I combined many of the recommendations and then went by taste. I thought I had green beans in the freezer but they were an oriental vegetable blend (which worked well but I think I could have used 2 bags instead of 1). I used tomatoes, onion, garlic (fresh), then added in Emerel spices. I made a cold bow tie pasta but you definitely need 2 hot items with this dish. The next day I made some smashed potatoes and used this to go over it. I also added some sezchaun sauce and that gave it a little pizzaz! Anyway this goes great over potatoe! The first night it fed 3 people (plus some pasta) and then there was just enough left for 2 people for leftovers the next night. It was a good recipe to start off with and then expand on based on your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States