Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was a tasty, easy meal. I didn't have access to fresh green beans, so I used canned and didn't cook it quite as long. I served over instant brown rice and my picky eaters lapped it all up! Due to the one pot prep and the addition of soy sauce, my husband thought he was getting Oriental, which pleased him as well. I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I cut back to 1/8 cup of sugar. The kids just loved it. Mommy and Daddy did too. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONIGL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
We had this as kids growing up, served over steamed rice, only my Dad used slightly thawed mixed frozen veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and a dash of white pepper. Wow, brings back memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
My husband doesn't care for green beans, but he loved this dish! Fabulous one-dish meal over rice. I added some black pepper to the meat before cooking. There was too much sauce at the end, so I added 1 TBS corn starch & water to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This was awesome! My husband loved it and suggested it had a beef jerky kind of taste. My 2 year old gobbled it down. Defintely suggest trying it with fresh beans, they made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Quick, easy and tasty. Great for a quick weeknight meal. I used fresh green beans and I suppose canned or, even better yet, frozen would work just as well. I will definitely make this again although I will reduce the amount of soya sauce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I also grew up eating this dish. I never liked veggies but the sweetness of this made me like it. My son also loves it. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
My family loved this. It's so simple, but very tasty. We just ate it plain (w/out rice) because I didn't have time to make the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I guess this is one of those dishes that you have to acquire a taste for. I had to try it based on the other great reviews, but my husband and I both agreed this would be the last time I would make it - the flavor was very strange. I suggest that if you never had it as a child, make it in smaller amounts to try it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States