Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My Fussy Kids LOVED this one!!! Great served w/ rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This dish satisfied me, my husband, and my toddler daughter, so I'll definitely be making it again! I tweaked the recipe to add more flavors, though. I sauteed the ground meat with diced onion and about 1 tsp. minced garlic. I also added a can of sliced water chestnuts near the end of cooking for extra crunch, and mixed in a few teaspons of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I cut the sugar in half, like others have suggested, and it was just the right amount of sweetness. Frozen green beans worked fine. A very simple and satisfying dish -- if you serve with rice and fresh fruit, you've got a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Found this dish intriguing. I added diced sweet onion to the ground beef and used frozen beans. Proceeded per recipe, adding a bit of corn starch to thicken the gravy. End result I found flavorless so added lots of black pepper, garlic powder, and some salt. Still didn't taste like much. Disappointed, I set it aside and made some rice to serve it over. Well..45 minutes later at dinner time this dish had soaked up the flavors of the gravy and was quite tasty! Also made a lot. Fed 4 adults and a child, and two of us had seconds. All in all a nice, easy, economical meal. Thanks : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was very tasty and easy to make. I replaced the sugar with Splenda and only used 1 heaping tablespoon along with the soy sauce. I like things a little spicy, so I added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes when I added the soy sauce and served over brown rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Nice! We took a previous suggestion and added a can of diced tomatoes, and cut the sugar to two tablespoons. Everybody liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very easy and tastes very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This was a bit sweet for me, but my husband took two helpings. I used beef tenderloin rather than ground beef. Also added sliced onion when cooking the beef for an extra vegetable. I also put some cornstarch into the water/sugar/soy-sauce mixture so that it would thicken slightly. Served over rice. Will definitely make this again, as it was so easy to prepare, and could be very versatile. Thanks, April!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
My husband liked this (he likes anything sweet), but I felt it was too sweet and had no other flavors to recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Very easy dish to prepare and will make again, but will leave out the sugar. I questioned putting it in and only put in half the amount (used 2 T Splenda). Will definitely leave out next time. Used extra lean ground sirloin and served on brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I served this over rice. it was pretty good. A bit sweet even though I cut the sugar in half! My kids liked so that alone makes this one a repeater. **update** I served the leftovers stuffed in sweet peppers topped with a bit of cheese. This was WONDERFUL. I think this may become my standard pepper stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States