Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I skipped the sugar and instead added 1 cup chopped onions, 4 cloves of garlic and about 2 tsp of sesame oil. This recipe is super easy and you can add or subtract ingredients to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWDRAGON

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I used frozen beans. It was way too sweet, so I tried to compensate with soy sauce and sherry which produced inedible results. If you try this, start with half the sugar and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is fantastic and South Beach Diet friendly if you substitute Splenda (I use 1/8 c splenda blend), light soy sauce, and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The kids liked it. They told me to rate it 4 stars because it was good, but they still aren't fond of green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I substituted diced chicken breasts for beef. I doubled the recipe but only used half the sugar. I added sliced red pepper, garlic, green onion and thickened with corn starch. Served with basmati rice. I will definately make this again. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
It was tasty but fairly bland - I thickened the sauce, but would have liked more of it. It was definitely a great way to get everyone to eat a large portion of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Love this recipe. It is easy to fix and uses ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is a fine meal, although nothing special. I added 1 tsp each of minced garlic, oregano and basil and it was still rather bland. It may have been more flavorfull if I had served it by itself, but over mashed potatoes it really didn't taste like much. I did cut back the sugar to 1 heaping Tbsp and I didn't think it had any sweetness to it at all. It's a good way to get the veggies in though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Like several other reviewers, I cut the sugar a bit, added garlic, oregano and basil for seasonings, and sauteed some onion with the meat. But I substituted lean ground turkey for the meat, and it still turns out great, just like my parents used to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bubu
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Really good recipe! was a hit for dinner at home. definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States