Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe and easy to prepare. Because I am diabetic, I used 2 packets of Splenda instead of the sugar. I have also added tofu cut into cubes for a variation. Also, broccoli or asparagus can be used instead of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
It doesn't taste as authentic. I would use half soy sauce and half fish sauce. This will give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I liked this recipe. I did add some sweet yellow onions cut into straws. They added a nice flavor. I also boiled my green beans in beef broth using a bouillon cube; which added some earthiness. Thank you for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is one of the first recipes I added to my recipe box back in 2002, and I finally made it tonight! I added half a sliced onion, half a pound sliced mushrooms, 3 sliced carrots because I needed to use them all up. I also subbed frozen green beans and 1 1/4 pounds extra lean ground turkey. Because of my additions, I made 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce. We really liked it! Yes, it is kind of sweet, but I expected it to be and was pleasantly surprised by the sauce, which I thickened with corn starch. It isn't company fare and certainly not authentic Japanese food, but still nice. My boyfriend wanted it spicier so put Sriracha hot sauce on his. I'm sure I'll make this a lot in the future because it's healthy, easy and tastes good! It's a good recipe to add pretty much whatever extra vegetables you have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Good and easy, used 1/2 the sugar and got the same results, I also added sauteed onion (1 medium) to boost the flavor, greatttt taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My family loves this recipe! And on evenings when I am really in a hurry I substitute frozen or even canned green beans for a super fast dish! It's such a joy to find recipes all three of my children like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
this was okay. the sauce wasn't thick enough though. i think the other reviews offered some good ideas to add some other ingredients into the mix. i'm thinking it may taste better as 'leftovers' - tbd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was delicious! I boiled fresh green beans for 10 min before adding it to browned ground turkey. I still added the cup of water since I thought there would not be enough sauce to coat everything while in the pot. I ended up with more than enough sauce and drained more than half of it - I would save it if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I love it, but it's a little too sweet and strong flavored for my husband and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Good. I forgot to add sugar, and I used ground turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States