Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was great! I added some peas, dried minced onion, minced garlic, and seasoned pepper. Served over white rice. The whole family chowed it down. Will definately make again when I need a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I used frozen green beans, which I cooked according to the package while I browned the beef. While I combined the two, I replaced the 1 c of water in the recipe with 2 TBL of sake. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I found this edible but bland, even after adding red pepper flake and garlic powder generously. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was good and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Even if you like green beans to begin with! Very reminiscent of the Japanese flavor I love! Big hit in this household. Will definitely make again exactly as recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Just like my grandma makes! I halved the sugar and seasoned the beef with salt, pepper, and garlic. Comfort food over rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBUCHANAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
AMAZING !!! My girls & I love love LOVE this, have made it tons of times. Sounds a little weird, but worth a try I promise ! Over time you'll be able to adjust the amount of sugar / soy amounts to suit your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lisenbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is just too sweet for me and my family. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksmom77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was fantastic. Served it on rice with mixed (frozen) veg on the side. Quick, fuss-free and no leftovers - a winner in my house! Txs for the recipe. PS I made it as is, no problems with taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowfreeze_Sorbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a good, fairly standard okazu recipe, adapted for the American kitchen. The sugar/soy sauce ratio is a little off, but I fixed that when I made it my substituting 1 tbsp of mirin rather than using sugar. I generally use a 3:1 soy to sugar/mirin ratio for okazu. I also generally add minced garlic and ginger (about 1 tbsp each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States