Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
WOW!! It was so easy and good. My DH and I couldn't figure out where we knew the taste from and then it hit me.....YOSHINOYA!! If you have never had the pleasure of Yoshinoya Beef Bowl then you are missing it my friend. Anyway, I used about a 1 1/2 pound of beef (browned with garlic and black pepper), doubled the soy sauce and sugar (and still not enough liquid for us) and petite frozen green beans. DH says it needed thin sliced onions (didn't do it because my boy doesn't like them). It was so quick, easy and yummy...this will become part of my dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Mehh...didn't care for this as much as I'd hoped. It seemed lacking, so I added some minced fresh garlic, ground cumin and cinnamon and that was a bit more interesting. I think some chopped onions would have been a nice touch as well. Served it over Jasmin rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe for college students who have a tight budget! I did everything according to the recipe, but I added carrots (I can't eat them normally, but they taste delicious here) and switched the sugar with honey, as one reviewer suggested. Delicious, especially over medium or short grain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great, easy reicipe! I had ground beef and green beans and didn't know what to do with them. This recipe came up on my search. I love the simplicity. I do like things seasoned so I added, garlic, ginger and onion. I also substituted low sodium beef broth for the water. I also used low sodium soy sauce. Served this over Lo Mein noodles...YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great recipe, very easy and very quick. My boys and hubby loved it. Instead of the sugar I added a few tsps of mirin. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Okay, so I only did 1# frozen green beans with 1/8c sugar & soy. I can see why kids would like it. It's sweet, not crazy sweet; but probably enough to get them to have a few - unless they're my kids. I guess if your kids won't eat meat either, they might this with the hamburger. For us ... just okay. I probably won't make it again, but ya never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I didn't need to add the cup of water, or the white sugar ...I added mushrooms and onions instead and it is still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was good. For a healthier version I substituted ground turkey and splenda. I added diced onion at the beginning of the recipe when I was browning the meat. I also seasoned the meat with a little garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Simple and tasty. I think it would be better with a little more seasoning but it's great for a budget. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was great! I added some peas, dried minced onion, minced garlic, and seasoned pepper. Served over white rice. The whole family chowed it down. Will definately make again when I need a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States