Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious!, it's all i can say, so this includes the fact that i will make it again and again... thank you for sharing :) ; i didn't add so much soy sauce or sugar, just to my liking but it was really nice; i did add some garlic powder and black pepper, but the base is amazingly simple and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I ate green bean Okazu growing up in hawaii. This is a great basic go-to recipe. To make it fantastic and add more depth to this dish, here are the changes I made: 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce, 2 t black pepper, 1 med chopped onion, 1 T granulated garlic, 1/2 cup of cooking Sherry. Then it add a touch more soy sauce and sugar to balance out what I added. Ono grinds with sticky rice!! Ps, I insist on the cooking sherry, it brings everything together! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very easy and filling. I added a small onion (chopped) and some garlic salt. I also added a little less sugar. It was very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I've made this recipe now 5 or 6 times. We like it as a quick family meal (served over white rice). I do add onions and sliced water chestnuts when I have them. I added salt and pepper and fresh garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The recipe was delicious. I would recommend less sugar. My son thought it was a bit sweet. I loved it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I added a tiny bit of Worcestershire to the soy/sugar mix, sesame seeds, and sauteed red onion and garlic to the meat, and I boiled a couple new potatoes that I cut into tiny chunks to throw in with the whole dish. I used green beans that steam in the microwave, so cooking time came down with that. I am serving it over some steamed white rice. My family and I love recipes like this! Simple to make and very yummy! I will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Tasted old school. Otherwise, the sauce is a classic Chinese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I used about 1/2 the sugar and felt like it was almost to much. Otherwise it was a great meal served with home-made fried rice and egg foo young on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My hubby LOVES this dish! The only thing I do different is I add a little Worcestershire sauce( to taste) when I add in the soy sauce. I serve this with mashed potatoes and even the kids eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mushydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Really easy and tasted great! Added a dash of garlic powder, ground ginger and black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States