Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious!, it's all i can say, so this includes the fact that i will make it again and again... thank you for sharing :) ; i didn't add so much soy sauce or sugar, just to my liking but it was really nice; i did add some garlic powder and black pepper, but the base is amazingly simple and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I ate green bean Okazu growing up in hawaii. This is a great basic go-to recipe. To make it fantastic and add more depth to this dish, here are the changes I made: 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce, 2 t black pepper, 1 med chopped onion, 1 T granulated garlic, 1/2 cup of cooking Sherry. Then it add a touch more soy sauce and sugar to balance out what I added. Ono grinds with sticky rice!! Ps, I insist on the cooking sherry, it brings everything together! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very easy and filling. I added a small onion (chopped) and some garlic salt. I also added a little less sugar. It was very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I've made this recipe now 5 or 6 times. We like it as a quick family meal (served over white rice). I do add onions and sliced water chestnuts when I have them. I added salt and pepper and fresh garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The recipe was delicious. I would recommend less sugar. My son thought it was a bit sweet. I loved it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I added a tiny bit of Worcestershire to the soy/sugar mix, sesame seeds, and sauteed red onion and garlic to the meat, and I boiled a couple new potatoes that I cut into tiny chunks to throw in with the whole dish. I used green beans that steam in the microwave, so cooking time came down with that. I am serving it over some steamed white rice. My family and I love recipes like this! Simple to make and very yummy! I will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Tasted old school. Otherwise, the sauce is a classic Chinese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I used about 1/2 the sugar and felt like it was almost to much. Otherwise it was a great meal served with home-made fried rice and egg foo young on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My hubby LOVES this dish! The only thing I do different is I add a little Worcestershire sauce( to taste) when I add in the soy sauce. I serve this with mashed potatoes and even the kids eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mushydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Really easy and tasted great! Added a dash of garlic powder, ground ginger and black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States