Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I'm so excited I found this recipe!Made an account just to rate it. I followed the recipe almost exactly with one major adjustment: I actually used canned green beans, as it was all I had. Came out amazing still, and because they were canned there was no lack of salt as others had said. I had garlic and herb bread crumbs and fried in vegetable oil, I had no deep fryer. They were soft on the inside and crispy on the outside, absolutely delicious. I recommenced trying the canned beans because they're cheaper and often on hand, and made less prep work. Not necessarily the healthiest option but still better than other fried foods. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Really good! I used a frozen green bean and wax bean mix (oldest son thought the wax beans were french fries, score) just thawed them out on paper towels to absorb moisture so I skipped the blanching part. Served them with ranch for a dipping sauce. Enjoyed by the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
As others suggested, I baked these at 375 for 25 minutes instead of frying them. A couple additional suggestions: the original recipe calls for way more flour and bread crumbs than is actually needed to coat the green beans. You could probably cut both in half to avoid waste. Also, place the flour and bread crumbs in 2 separate bowls with a lid, place the beans in the bowl during the respective steps, and shake to coat. It saves so much time compared to doing it by hand. Great veggie snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved thees! I added a little salt and a pinch of cayenne to the seasonings. Per the tip of another reviewer I made a cucumber wasabi horseradish dipping sauce to go with. I found one on this site as part of the recipe "Crispy Green Beans with Horseradish-Wasabi Sauce" in which I doubled up the cucumbers, so the sauce recipe I made was 1/2 c ranch dressing, almost a 1/2 c finely chopped, peeled and seeded cucumber, 1 T milk, 1 t wasabi powder, 1 1/2 t prepared horseradish, pinch cayenne, 1/8 t salt, a pinch of pepper (my addition). Blend in blender. Thickens a little in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought I'd save myself one extra step and bake these instead of frying like another reviewer said. If I ever try this again I will for sure fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I baked these for about 20 minutes and then pan fried them in a few tablespoons of oil for a couple minutes to add the extra crisp. They were awesome and the kids can't wait for me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these the other night--easy peasy, and they were so delicious. I used frozen organic green beans and didn't cook them before hand, though. I did, however, dredge them in flour first, before dipping them in egg and then breadcrumbs. I fried them in my deep fryer. My kiddos loved them (and getting them to eat veggies can be quite a challenge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T!!! I loved it. My son hates green beans but these are too awesome to pass up. Thanks- One happy Mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrisholly8228
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I'm not really a "green-beaner" but I tried these out and LOVED them. I used frozen Green Beans; boiled a few minutes until bright green, floured, milk/egg dipped, and coated with the breadcrumb mixture. Served hot with Chipolte Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Loved! Very close to the ones they serve at TGIF.... I served with horseradish sauce found in catsup isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States