Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
very good! I would recommend only frying for a about 30 seconds, otherwise they will burn. Skim the oil often to remove impurities or they will stick to your grean beans. I made sure that the green beans were rinsed with very cold water to make sure that they remained crisp. Great alternative to regualr fries. I served these with turkey burgers stuffed with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I also ommitted the pre cooking step. I actually used frozen whole green beans unthawed. Still turned out awesome. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bolling Afb, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Great! 2 things I did differently: bake the beans at 375 for about 25 minutes rather than fry them. I sprayed a cookie sheet w/non-fat cooking spray prior to placing the beans on top. And I used egg substitute instead of one egg. Our whole family enjoyed them! I'll def make them again & prob will make a large batch so I can freeze some. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I'm giving this recipe a 5 but I really have no idea if that's true. I took a previous reviewer's notes on baking the beans rather than deep frying them because I'm always trying to lower fat/cals on recipes. BIG mistake with this one. Make it just the way it's written, deep fry the heck out of these suckers, I'm sure they're delicious. Whatever you do, don't bake them, they're tasteless textureless sticks of breading. One day when I'm feeling really skinny I'll try this recipe deep fried and I'm sure I'll be happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Delicious...just like the ones I order at a famous-chain restaurant we have here, only now I can save myself the trip, the crowd, the wait...not to mention the cost! Tastes great dipped in ranch dressing mixed with Tabasco sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A keeper... the whole family liked them a lot! I followed the recipe exactly except that I did not boil the beans prior to breading. They were fine just fried without pre-cooking. The recipe works great to make fried okra too. Just substitute sliced okra for the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
We loved this! We were looking for a recipe like this after having a similar appitizer while out to eat. It was great and we will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were so fabulous!!! We couldn't get enough of them. I followed the advice of another reviewer & used frozen green beans & omitted the precooking & they turned out great. We will definitely have these again & again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I also baked them rather than frying. I sprinkled them with a little salt after I took them of the oven and served with fat free ranch for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Loved these! Great appetizer - just like the ones they serve a a major chain restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States