Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and they still came out bland... Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very delicious. A perfect appetizer for the vegetarian crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
very simple and easy. The only things I changed was I used whole wheat flower and I baked the green beans without boiling them. I baked them on a cookie wire rack at 400 for about 25-30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Excellent and very good. i love fried foods that some type of nutritional value. To make a lower carb version, I put 3 heaping tbs of flour on the green beans after drying them, then I added 3 heaping tbs of bread crumbs. I then added the egg on top. Hand-mixed then pan fried in coconut oil (a healthier oil.) Definetly a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These have potential, I just didn't have the luck to do it right the first time. I tried baking it at 350 for 25 minutes like I read in so many other reviews, big mistake. I don't know how to describe the texture that was left, but it was not appealing, to say the least. So, I tried to crisp them up in a pot with oil (we don't have a fryer). Didn't get it quite right this batch, but I am sure I will with the next. Note to others: They don't take long in the fryer so be quick and (as sick as the thought may be) SKIP the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
fantastic recipe. i went crazy adding lots of seasonings to the bread crumbs, and it ended up great. its really forgiving. it does need a bit of salt in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I agree that with the amounts of chili, garlic, and onion powder they didn't have that much flavor. I used Italian breadcrumbs and scaled back the breadcrumbs to one cup and added a little more of the seasonings to see if that would help and it didn't. Next time I will add more seasoning and may try skipping the flour since most of it came off when I dipped the beans into the egg. It might also help with the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These turned out pretty well for me! I did things a little differently. I tossed the spices with the flour in a large plastic bag. I did NOT precook the beans per the advice of other reviewers. I ran the beans under cold water, tossed them in the bag with the flour and spices, dredged through the egg/milk, and tossed them in Panko bread crumbs for extra crunch. I don't have a deep fryer, so in a frying pan I heated vegetable oil (enough to cover a single layer of beans) over low-medium heat. I then fried the beans in single layers for about 4 minutes, turning them over half way through until golden brown. Lost 1 star because they are QUITE greasy (think onion rings), but that's likely due to my technique! I just sprinkled with salt afterwards to bump up the flavor, like you would french fries. LOTS of work (took me ~2 hours to do a double batch) but I'd make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were really good. I used some frozen green beans I got from Sam's Club and deep fried them. I like them better than potato fries. and my son the, "green bean king" loved them. And my daughter didn't hate them, so that was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very good! I put the flour in a zip lock bag and then the bread crumbs in another bag. bunch of beans in the flour..shake, shake, shake..take out with my hands, and dump in egg white...scoop out and in to the bag of bread crumbs and shake. I baked these at 350 on a pan sprayed with pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States