Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
fantastic recipe. i went crazy adding lots of seasonings to the bread crumbs, and it ended up great. its really forgiving. it does need a bit of salt in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I agree that with the amounts of chili, garlic, and onion powder they didn't have that much flavor. I used Italian breadcrumbs and scaled back the breadcrumbs to one cup and added a little more of the seasonings to see if that would help and it didn't. Next time I will add more seasoning and may try skipping the flour since most of it came off when I dipped the beans into the egg. It might also help with the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These turned out pretty well for me! I did things a little differently. I tossed the spices with the flour in a large plastic bag. I did NOT precook the beans per the advice of other reviewers. I ran the beans under cold water, tossed them in the bag with the flour and spices, dredged through the egg/milk, and tossed them in Panko bread crumbs for extra crunch. I don't have a deep fryer, so in a frying pan I heated vegetable oil (enough to cover a single layer of beans) over low-medium heat. I then fried the beans in single layers for about 4 minutes, turning them over half way through until golden brown. Lost 1 star because they are QUITE greasy (think onion rings), but that's likely due to my technique! I just sprinkled with salt afterwards to bump up the flavor, like you would french fries. LOTS of work (took me ~2 hours to do a double batch) but I'd make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were really good. I used some frozen green beans I got from Sam's Club and deep fried them. I like them better than potato fries. and my son the, "green bean king" loved them. And my daughter didn't hate them, so that was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very good! I put the flour in a zip lock bag and then the bread crumbs in another bag. bunch of beans in the flour..shake, shake, shake..take out with my hands, and dump in egg white...scoop out and in to the bag of bread crumbs and shake. I baked these at 350 on a pan sprayed with pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I tried this with panko bread crumbs, and it worked well for extra crunch. Next time I will try the breadcrumbs to compare. Lost one star because there is no need to precook the beans. They were perfect starting fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I didn't have "seasoned" bread crumbs, just plain bread crumbs, so I probably should have added something else to it to season it up a bit, but it was still good. I just added a lot of salt at the end and dipped in ranch dressing. Good base recipe that can be seasoned the way you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Time consuming, but worth every minute to prepare! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3296Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made these & they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Something different and they were good...didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States