Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Good! Everyone enjoyed these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I'm rating this recipe based on some changes, so be aware. I added some seasoning salt to spice it up a bit and mixed in some trimmed asparagus with the green beans for variety. Instead of boiling the veggies, I popped them in the microwave for 3ish minutes to cook them thru. Instead of using flour to coat, I divided the bread crumb mixture into two bowls and dipped once in bread crumbs, once in the egg mixture, and then again in the bread crumbs. The only reason I gave this version four stars instead of five was because the coating didn't stick as well as I would've liked, but again that could've been from the way I did it. The flavor was otherwise excellent, we gobbled them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These beans were delicious...just like TGIF. I used panko bread crumbs that tended to fall off in the oil, so next time I will try 'regular' bread crumbs. For the sauce I used some ranch dressing mixed wtih mayo and wasabi. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tastes better than the major chain restaurant! I used plain bread crumbs and added seasoned salt. Omitted onion powder because I couldn't find it in the cabinet. And used freshly milled wheat flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I'm in love! These are exceptional! I used fresh haricot verts, so I didn't cook them, just washed, placed in flour and followed the instructions the rest of the way. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I'll give five stars to any recipe that shortens the list of things I can only get if I go to a restaurant. Instead of taking the family out and spending 50/60.00, I spent about 6 bucks for green beans and a bottle of chipotle ranch and everything else I already have. These are super easy to make and satisfying and a tad healthier than some of its other fried counterparts. I agree on the baking in the oven. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayBe27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Delicious! I even messed up a little (mixing the flour WITH the breadcrumbs) and they still came out delicious. But you definitely do need to add some salt. Next time I'll try baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We have these at TGI Friday's and decided to try them after finding haricots verts at Sam's. The result was very close to Friday's - tender and crispy. My only changes - I did not cook the beans first, left out the chili powder, used fresh bread crumbs, and added salt - you really do need some salt. I also sprinkled them with shredded Parmesan before I served them. The bread crumbs make a light, crispy crust - much better than just flour - and although I liked the fresh bread crumbs I used, I will try Panko next time. I made fresh buttermilk dressing for a dip and added horseradish to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The first time I made these, I fried them. They turned out too greasy. The next time I made them, I did like other reviewers and baked at 350 for 15 minutes or so. They were great this way!! This will definitely be a keeper in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States