Green Bean Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made these tonight and... wow! I've never had green bean fries before, but they sounded good and looked great, so I gave it a try. Everyone loved them, even the picky, normally-green-bean-hating 8-year-old! I made them almost exactly as in the recipe, however, I did make a few minor changes. After reading many of the comments here about needing salt, I used garlic salt instead of powder and also added in a teaspoon of Lawry's seasoned salt. I didn't have any onion powder on hand, so I used dried onion flakes instead. My bread crumbs were italian, if that makes a difference for anyone. I deep fried each batch for 3 minutes, and they came out perfectly. Sprinkled them lightly with salt and then we dipped them in ranch dressing. A huge hit here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I can't make enough of this. Everyone in my family requests wants these when they come over for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
So good! Followed recipe exactly. We mixed some wasabi with buttermilk ranch for dipping, yum! Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I loved these! I followed someone else's suggestion and mixed the flour in with the bread crumbs. I dredged them in the flour mix, then in the egg/milk and back in the flour. I deep fried them for 2 minutes (I did precook them as well). I sprinkled on a tiny bit of sea salt when they were hot. I also made a wasabi-ranch dipping sauce. (1/2 C cucumber, 3/4 C ranch dressing, 1 Tbsp lemon juice, 1 -2 Tbsp wasabi; mix in blender or processor; chill for a couple of hours). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Not bad, but I had trouble getting the coating to stick well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Makes a lot! Next time I will only make 1/4 to 1/2 lb for 2 people. I did as some others and only cooked for about 30 seconds to 1 minute but I think the published 2 minutes would be better. I used an electric fry pan instead of a deep fryer, it worked great. Will add more seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great appetizer recipe. Made just as recipe directs. Serve with marinara dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEFFS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Super yummy and totally addicting. Rather than blanche the green beans in boiling water, I simply rinsed them in the sink and quick steamed them in the microwave. Then pour off the water and through some flour in the container, shake and all the beans are coated. They also retain more nutrients by a quick steam. I also added Lite Salt to the crumb mixture. I loved them, but my kids and hubby were not fooled and would not eat them....oh well, more for me!!!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
They were okay but the bread crumbs were too clumpy. I would try again but maybe without the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Fry these. I'm here to tell you that baking them is NOT the same. It really does take it down at least a star -- probably 2. I won't make these again without frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States