Green Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Wow! The taste of Asia! Thanks for the great recipe. We didn't have the curry leaves and I used only about 1 teaspoon of the lime juice but it smelled and tasted just like we were back in Asia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Like everyone else, I didn't have exactly the right ingredients, but it is a good basic recipe that you can do a lot with! I didn't have serrano peppers, curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but added a Tbsp of garam masala and some red pepper flakes to the spices. I also pre-cooked and sliced some chicken, and added them in with the green beans. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I liked it a lot too but would recommend cutting the green beans in bite size pieces and adding some chicken or pork. I didn't have the curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but wouldn't mind trying to find them for the next time I make this. Very fragrant and flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We loved this one ... perfect over brown basmati rice for a vegetarian entree ... I just wish I had increased the recipe ... as written it was just enough for my husband and I for dinner - no seconds :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved it! I doubled the recipe.I chopped up the frozen green beans from my garden last fall into tiny tiny pieces.I chopped chicken breast into tiny tiny pieces added it.Put in a 400 ml can of72% less fat coconut milk.Next time I will try coconut oil instead of vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband and I loved this one. I used it as a side dish to Tandoori chicken. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil to mirror the coconut milk and I followed the spices exactly. I couldn't get enough! That's my photo. Such a yummy recipe deserves a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Loved this recipe. Had to look up a few substitutions since I didn't have curry leaves but did have kafir leaves (which worked great). Also, didn't have enough beans for the recipe so added some potato sliced thin. Because I like my curries with a bit more sauce than the recipe created as it is, I simply added a bit more coconut milk and a bit more spice. My husband loved it. I loved it. Can't wait for the left-overs tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I didn't have fenugreek or curry leaves but it was excellent. I added just about a half tsp of cane sugar to bring out the coconut flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
ABoston, This is delicious, how about a recipe for coconut roti I can try with this :-) Dian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe did not have curry leaves or Serrano pepper instead used one green chili turned out fantastic the key is the fenugreek seeds and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States