Green Bean Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was very good. I did change this up just a little bit. I didn't crumble the bacon, instead cut in half and placed on top of the chicken. I also added just a little bit of onion to the green beans while cooking. Hubby loves cheese and thought this was good. I do agree that the chicken needs some flavoring before frying up...but still good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
It was tastier than expected - but the chicken could use some seasonings before plopping them in the casserole to bake. Otherwise overall is was pretty good. This does not re-heat well AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALIESIN61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I found this when I searched for a way to use my fresh garden green beans. We really liked this! I followed the advice of cooking the chicken in the same pan after the bacon was done, and it did flavor it nicely. I will be making this more often! Thanks for posting it, Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I didnt care much for this dish. My husband loves green beans and cheesy food but he thought it was just ok. I wont make this again. Too much prep time for the end result. My breadcrumbs didnt get soggy, but the whole thing just didnt live up to my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Pretty good! I made some changes because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, and happily enough, those changes made it healthier! First, I didn't have any bacon so I fried some shaved, diced ham and that was just like bacon except a lot less fattening. Also, I used a mix of frozen green beans and broccoli because I didn't have 20 ounces of either, and I also used rice. I mixed about two cups of cooked rice with about half a cup of the cheddar soup and spread it in the bottom of the baking dish, covered it with the veggies (I think I used more than 20 ounces), then put the chicken and ham and soup over it. I used two cans of the soup for it and am glad I did! And I used a lot more than a pinch of cayenne pepper and sprinkled salt on everything. For the bread crumbs, I just sprinkled a handful of Italian bread crumbs over top. I didn't have any cheese. I think I'll make all of these changes the next time (the bacon and cheese really weren't missed), except I'll mix some milk into the soup so it's not as translucent and isn't as thick. I think I'll also skip the bread crumbs or sprinkle them on before I pour on the soup. And finally, next time I won't cook it under the broiler because the bread crumbs got too dark in places after just a couple minutes. Just bake it like a normal casserole :o) With these changes, I think it will be a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was fairly tasty, but too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I have made this twice. My family loves it. I made my own cheese sauce because I didn't have the soup on hand and made it ahead of time, which was great. I served it with basmati rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Kane Naylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
aS a LoT oF pEePs HeRe SaY... tHiS iS tAsTeE... oKeE... i mAdE iT 4 mAh ReLaTiVeS... tHeY sAiD... gUrL... hOw Ya GiT tA bE sUcH a GuUd CoOk? AnD mE i JuS sMiLeD cUs OnLy OnE pErSoN hAsTa KnOw HoW eAsY tHiS iS tO mAkE... mE!!! yA i MiGhT mAkE tHiS aNoThA TiMe... PoSSibLY SoOn... WiT iT yaLL wHat Ya SeRvE? mE i CLooLeSs.. LeTs SeE tHeReZ sO mUcH tO cHoOsE fRoM... pOtAtOeS... pAsTa... RiCe... BuT i NoT sUrE wHaT iS pUrRfEkT! wUt YuR oPiNiOn YaLL!!! YaZ bE mY HoMiEz & GiMmE a WuRd Up FeLLaS! i OuTTiE!!! Loggae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
My whole family enjoyed this. I made it extra good by sauteing the chicken in the bacon drippings. Yum! I also made it up ahead and just had it in the fridge. That worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Awesome!! The kids came back for seconds!! I was pleasantly surprised. So was my husband!! Will make again and again!!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States