Green Bean Casserole Remix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was gone in no time this evening. Everyone (adults, teens and kids) loved it and asked that we have it again for Thanksgiving in place of the traditional this year. I was sure I had half and half cream but when I reached in the fridge, all I could find was heavy cream so used that. I also used a very tiny amount of a cornstarch slurry to thicken a little more. Also, couldn't resist adding Durkee Onions on top. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very tasty. The bold flavor of the bacon added a kick to typically bland taste of the traditional version of green bean casserole. Of course I covered the top with Frenches brand onion crisps as well in the last few minutes of baking (gotta hoave it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is great for people that have allergies to wheat. Instead of thickening the "soup" mixture I made the casserole the night before and put it in the fridge. When I baked it the next day I used a lower temp. and baked it longer. This seemed to solve the problem with it being runny.This was a huge hit and I am now asked to bring it to all pot-lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerwin72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone absolutely loved it. My husband still begs me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe is wonderful with a few adjustment. I made a huge batch for 40 people and everyone loved it. It is however very thin as mentioned, I added a couple cans of cream of mushroom soup and some corn starch mixed with cold water to made it thicker. It turned out to be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I'm so glad I came across this recipe as I have to plan for a non-dairy menu, and it was easy to substitute soy or rice products for the milk products, rather than have to make cream of mushroom soup from scratch! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was the biggest hit at my table this year. Everyone loved it! I used heavy cream and added some grated parmesan to the sauce as it simmered. It thickened perfectly. I used about half of the bacon. Added the obligitory fried onions. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Recently made this for a luncheon at work for 46 people...WOW! It was the first thing gone....I personally have not been a fan of green bean casseroles but this remix is the best. Will be on my holiday table every year from now on! PS: followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Two of my three sisters hate the regular green bean casserole so I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. I added 1/4 cup of white wine to the sauce and a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. Was delicious and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So I have been making this for awhile now and after this thanksgiving had to give it a review. I was trying to use fresh green beans, and although the cream of mushroom came out fabulously well, the green beans never cooked all the way and it was watery. So this time I sweated some onions and garlic in a good amount of butter, then I added the green beans and sauteed until good and done. Think canned french cut as an example. This removed a lot of the liquid. I used tongs to move the green beans from my pan to the casserole dish so that there was no excess liquid. But don't throw it away! I used it in the cream of mushroom which I made with heavy cream instead, and used a corn starch/water mixture to thicken. It came out PERFECT! And was sooo good and got plenty of compliments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States