Green Bean Casserole Remix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Love this! Made it today and it was a hit for sure! followed to recipe exactly as it is, no changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So I have been making this for awhile now and after this thanksgiving had to give it a review. I was trying to use fresh green beans, and although the cream of mushroom came out fabulously well, the green beans never cooked all the way and it was watery. So this time I sweated some onions and garlic in a good amount of butter, then I added the green beans and sauteed until good and done. Think canned french cut as an example. This removed a lot of the liquid. I used tongs to move the green beans from my pan to the casserole dish so that there was no excess liquid. But don't throw it away! I used it in the cream of mushroom which I made with heavy cream instead, and used a corn starch/water mixture to thicken. It came out PERFECT! And was sooo good and got plenty of compliments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Two of my three sisters hate the regular green bean casserole so I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. I added 1/4 cup of white wine to the sauce and a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. Was delicious and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Recently made this for a luncheon at work for 46 people...WOW! It was the first thing gone....I personally have not been a fan of green bean casseroles but this remix is the best. Will be on my holiday table every year from now on! PS: followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was gone in no time this evening. Everyone (adults, teens and kids) loved it and asked that we have it again for Thanksgiving in place of the traditional this year. I was sure I had half and half cream but when I reached in the fridge, all I could find was heavy cream so used that. I also used a very tiny amount of a cornstarch slurry to thicken a little more. Also, couldn't resist adding Durkee Onions on top. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a nice change from the regular green bean casserole and we all loved it. Like another reviewer mentioned, it did seem on the thin side, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, used fat free half and half and some black pepper. I'll admit, I just couldn't tear myself away from the fried onions, so I did end up adding them to the mix. Excellent recipe chocoholic and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Anyone who says this isn't am amazing recipe is NUTS! Even my green-bean-casserole-hater-family-members LOVED this. My 11yr old and I tried the sauce mixture alone and we almost cried it was so good. I had GBCasserole duty to 2 thxgivings this and this is my BEST dish yet. CHANGES: chopped onions instead of mushrooms, added a can of cream of mushroom to it, sauce seemed thin, added french fried onions on top. FAB! Muchas Gracias chocoholic1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I didn't care for this and my boys did not like it, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
For flavor I would give this five stars, however the casserole was very runny so I dropped it down to four stars. Maybe adding less half-and-half would help, or adding cornstarch to thicken it up. I will make it again but will need to play around with it so that it's not so runny next time. Flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States