Green Bean Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this dish as a sub to the original green bean casserole due to mushroom allergies. I gave this 4 stars (rather than 5) not based on taste. This dish tastes amazing! I did make some alterations though. I doubled the recipe. I substituted the onion for french fried onions. And I topped with french fried onions instead of stuffing. The thing I'll do different next time is actually mix it into the green beans. It cooked as a cheesy layer on top and did not sink into the beans and seemed a little too thick (maybe I shouldn't have doubled the flour). Other than the seperate layers, this was a good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikmieke
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
It has a great flavor. I would just change the stuffing mix from 2 cups to a sprinkle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
First try turned out pretty good and was a crowd pleaser for many who have not ever enjoyed the mushroom soup version. Only four stars as I'll add some more spicing and cook a bit longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe, it wasn't so great. However, I did love the sauce, so I decided to give it another try. This time I used canned French style green beans in place of frozen. That made a huge difference. I also added mushrooms and added French's onion to the stuffing mix. Next time I think I will omit the stuffing mix and just use French's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyalice1030
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this two times. Once as the recipe directed and the next time with mushrooms and a few more spices. Neither time did I love it despite using quality ingredients (ie, organic beans from Trader Joes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We used this recipe for something different t our Thanksgiving table! I don't typically like greenbean casserole with the condensed soup mix so this take on the casserole was great! It was creamy, but not too much. I will change the stuffing topping as it was dry. I may make my own bread crumbs by cutting up white bread into squares, tossing it in melted butter, and adding that to the top next time. Great and easy recipe to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aface4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I thought this recipe is a good alternative to the traditional green bean casserole. I'm not a fan of mushroom soup, so I had been looking for a recipe for green bean casserole that didn't involve that ingredient. Everyone loved this dish and there were not many leftovers. The one change I made to this recipe was instead of using dry stuffing mix to top the dish, I used french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
i made this for a christmas dinner and it was delicious but i didn't put the stuffing mix on top instead I just topped it with the french fried onions everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I don't like green beans myself, but wanted to try to tasty up veggies I don't like so I will eat them. I can still taste the green beans, but they are offset alot by the whole casserole. If you cut them it helps alot. I also added garlic and onion topppers to mine. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
We don't especially like green bean casseroles, but we were asked to bring it for thanksgiving and it was a hit ! We were asked to bring it the following week for our Bible Study. The best part is that we were asked to bring it by a high school aged girl !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States