Green Bean Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was looking for a dish without the "cream of" soup and this was absolutely delicious! Everyone raved! I did replace the canned beans for fresh(steam for 5 minutes first, to soften before adding to recipe) I also replaced the onion with mushrooms because I wanted to put french fried onions on top, so it would be more like a traditional Thanksgiving dish. This recipe will definitely be part of our holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was the first time i was making it. Even my guy loved it .Few changes though.I skipped on the sugar & sour cream.I used parmesan cheese & I saute'd garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I opted to try a variation on the tried and true green bean casserole printed on the Durkee fried onion canister. Nobody ate these. Too much stuffing, needed more flavor. I guess I'm used to the old cream of mushroom soup. Oh well, I tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this recipe to bring to my sister's house for Christmas dinner this week. Everyone loved it and asked me to make it again for next year. I changed a couple of things: I decreased the sugar by half and also decreased the onion by about a third. I added some ground black pepper, a little garlic, and I used Stove Top stuffing instead of homemade. I might try homemade stuffing next year. I used frozen green beans that I thawed and drained. I didn't find them to be too crunchy at all, but I hate canned vegetables so maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I am so thankful for a great green bean casserole recipe without the dreaded cream of mushroom soup! Thought this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
My family really disliked the traditional green bean casserole recipe so I tried this recipe last year as an alternative. They loved this version and it was the only item that there weren't any leftovers for. This year I am doubling the recipe to make sure we get leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Much better than the traditional green bean casserole. I made this both at the holidays and when my family was in town visiting, and everyone that has tried it loves it. I also thought that the beans were a little crunchy for my taste, but my family wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
i made this for a christmas dinner and it was delicious but i didn't put the stuffing mix on top instead I just topped it with the french fried onions everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I think I would have rather used canned green beans, the frozen ones were just a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Recipe was very good. Could use less onions, like 1/2 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States