Green Bean Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I opted to try a variation on the tried and true green bean casserole printed on the Durkee fried onion canister. Nobody ate these. Too much stuffing, needed more flavor. I guess I'm used to the old cream of mushroom soup. Oh well, I tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I think I would have rather used canned green beans, the frozen ones were just a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I tried this recipe 4 years ago, in an attempt to create a traditional Thanksgiving menu for my family. To be honest, I hated it. I have refused to eat it again; however, my family thinks it's fantastic. Go figure. I make it every year for my family...I just get my veggies somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I absolutely hated this recipe. This sounds strange after awarding it a 4-star rating? Well, I rated it based on the other 7 people at the Thanksgiving dinner table. They all loved it, including two kids. So while I will not eat it, I've made this recipe for the last 4 Thanksgivings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Recipe was very good. Could use less onions, like 1/2 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Much better than the traditional green bean casserole. I made this both at the holidays and when my family was in town visiting, and everyone that has tried it loves it. I also thought that the beans were a little crunchy for my taste, but my family wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was the first time i was making it. Even my guy loved it .Few changes though.I skipped on the sugar & sour cream.I used parmesan cheese & I saute'd garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
My family really disliked the traditional green bean casserole recipe so I tried this recipe last year as an alternative. They loved this version and it was the only item that there weren't any leftovers for. This year I am doubling the recipe to make sure we get leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very good. Next time though I will cook the green beans first.They were a bit too crunchy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was looking for a dish without the "cream of" soup and this was absolutely delicious! Everyone raved! I did replace the canned beans for fresh(steam for 5 minutes first, to soften before adding to recipe) I also replaced the onion with mushrooms because I wanted to put french fried onions on top, so it would be more like a traditional Thanksgiving dish. This recipe will definitely be part of our holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States