Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I really love this recipe after a few changes. I used 30 ounces of frozen green beans, not thawed. I doubled the sauce recipe except for the onions and sugar. I also doubled the stuffing. It fills out the 9x13 perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Will try with out sugar and use rice flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving instead of the usual "back of the can" green bean casserole. My husband honestly didn't know the difference. There may not be a place in my pantry for cream of mushroom soup any longer. Here are my changes: I used chopped onions and mushrooms as well. Omitted the sugar, used canned beans (cause thats what we like), used velveeta instead of cheddar, and used the crunchy onions instead of stuffing. I love the way it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Wow, This was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We were blown away by how awesome this dish is. I substituted french fried onions for the stuffing since we love those. This recipe is so delish that we never have next day leftovers (and that's just two people). So much better than the campbell's soup recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I've made this several times and it's SOOO much better than using the recipes using the canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Has the potential to be very good, but much too sweet for my taste. I'll try it again, this time without sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I normally am not a fan of green bean casserole because they call for canned veggies. I am spoiled on fresh or frozen. When I found this I had to make it but did use the traditional fried onion topping instead of the stuffing and it was so very good. Made it for our Holiday Christmas dinner and everyone had seconds...Love seeing that when I cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaebreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. My sweet 88 year old Mom does not like the "Green Bean Casserole" that has those "Greasy onions on top" (her words)! So I searched for another version. I have used a lot of different toppings, seasoned bread crumbs, veggie crackers, etc. I took a large casserole to the church pot luck, and it was all gone, and compliments were flying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made according to recipe except substituted crispy onions on top instead of stuffing, but I bet stuffing would be great. Next time, I will completely omit the sugar and add a lot of black pepper. Way to sweet for me and my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paralee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States