Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
EXCELLENT version of a favorite. Hubby wouldn't let me use stuffing, so I eliminated the sauted onion and added french fried onions on top. This will be the recipe I use every year from now on. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Have made this a few times and has received rave reviews. I know a chef who works at an expensive restuarant and he even thinks it is wonderful. I make it the easy way, using Stove Top Stuffing. Make sure you don't cover this or else stuffing will get 'mushy'. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This recipe was a huge hit at Christmas dinner and worked very well to make ahead. I simply prepared the sauce & stuffing topping then assembled and refrigerated until cooking time. Might try with brocolli & cauliflower next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This was wonderful! My husband ate it cold the next day and loved it! I used fresh green beans in this recipe rather than the frozen. Just make sure to cook them a little in boiling water first to soften them up. I loved it as a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This dish was very tasty, made it for Thanksgiving. Much better than the usual green bean casserole. My whole family enjoyed it, including kids. I used fresh green beans instead of frozen. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
TRUST ME ON THIS!!! instead of milk use sour cream. it makes this casserole soo much better.Use about 6-8 oz. Milk waters it down and sour cream adds thickness. My family has always made it this way and everyone loves it. You will thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This recipes is amazing! It tastes a lot better than the usual cream of mushroom soup. I did use mild cheddar the first time because sharp can be bitter but next time will try with sharp. Also was a touch sweet - I would use a little less sugar. I'm thinking of adding mushrooms next time for even more pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Thanks for a great recipe. SOOO much better than the creamed mushroom version. The cheese sauce is very tasty and rich. The small sweetness added from the sugar compliments the green beans. I added bread crumbs and french-fried onions to the top. Also added 1 teas. mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
F A N T A S T I C!!! Connie Moore whoever you are this recipe is a definite 5 star! I never made green bean casserole before but I knew I wanted to do something different for our neighborhood progressive party. I offered to make 2 double batches for our party,and the neighbors loved it!!! I got many requests for the recipe! Thank you! It's a definite that I'll be making this recipe again!!! (along with recipe cards!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I was looking for a green bean casserole recipe that didn't use "cream of whatever" soup, so I was happy to find this one! I really like the topping of prepared stuffing - it makes for a different and unique flavour. I will be making this for years to come. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States