Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Really good! I made this for Thanksgiving today for just the 2 1/2 of us and it's almost gone! I added 2 cloves of garlic to the onion butter mix, bacon sprinkled over the beans at my husband's request, and topped the stuffing with slivered almonds. I was hesitant about the stuffing instead of crunchy onions to be honest but it turned out excellent. My 3 year old even gobbled up his greens with no complaints. Thanks for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
TRUST ME ON THIS!!! instead of milk use sour cream. it makes this casserole soo much better.Use about 6-8 oz. Milk waters it down and sour cream adds thickness. My family has always made it this way and everyone loves it. You will thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great recipe everyone loved it!!! It taste so much better then the usual green bean casserole. I will be making it for the years to come. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Petrosyan
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was assigned Green Bean casserole last year for our family Thanksgiving. I've never eaten it since I don't like mushrooms and was excited in finding a recipe where I didn't need mushrooms or cream or mushroom soup. I was even more excited at how wonderfully delicious this is. I now make this any chance I get! Great recipe and not too difficult! I don't use the stuffing though, I just add fried onions to the top, and still leave them in the sauce, but I like onion so it's good to me. I've also made it with no onion to accomodate a family member and it was still delicious!! Wish I could give this many more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious. Four of us polished off the entire pan. I used packaged cornbread stuffing and will try French cut green beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Wow, no leftovers!I will never use another recipe again. Thanx Connie for a very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Wanting to find a green bean casserole recipe that was quick and easy, and didn't require cream of something soup, I came across this page. I tweaked the recipe a bit, using margarine instead of butter as that's all I have, and added parmesan cheese to the mix as well. I also used a bag of frozen Green Giant green beans and carrots. From what I tasted in the sauce (it's still baking!), I think this recipe will fast become a favorite in this house... can't wait for supper time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used this recipe at Easter. It was very good. I used canned beans the rest as per recipe. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This recipe replaced our traditional green bean casserole for Thanksgiving! It was gone really fast. I didn't use the stuffing but the fried onions. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Tasty and easy! My young children gobbled it up. Perhaps fresh steamed green beans would have been better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States