Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I am giving this a 5 because after lots of changes, this was incredible! I used fench cut beans, 1/2 sour cream instead of all milk, 1/2 cup chopped oinion, and a cup of cheddar cheese. I did not mix any french fried onions in, as they tend to get soggy, I just topped with them (cheddar flavored) instead. My husband who eats NO veggies, and everyone else too, had 2 seving each, our family of four almost polished off this whole casserole. I am very excited, as I have been looking for a green bean casserole recipe, and this was so tasty. Definitely cut down the liquid, or it will be too runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
516 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Mix the cream of mushroom with the milk, then add pinch of salt, pinch of pepper, 3/4 tsp garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of onion powder... add green beans and french's fried onions according to recipe... bake 30 mins then add onions on top and 10 more mins. Eliminates wateriness and lack of flavor. I made it this way and didn't have leftovers!!! Almost upsetting until I remembered that meant my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This recipe proves that green beans can indeed be comfort food. My husband and his friends go nuts over these and ask for seconds and thirds. (Vegetables!!) It's now expected that I serve up a pan of this with any special dinner. I used 1/2 cup milk (all you need; makes it super creamy instead of runny) use frozen green beans (4 cups; better texture!! Just bake until tender) ANd ther is NO NEED TO ADD EXTRA SALT- esp. if using canned beans. The soup is salty, the onions are salty, enough already! I also add lots of fresh cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
You really can't go wrong with Green Bean Casserole...I use this recipe year after year with the only significant change being to eliminate the milk and add in sour cream (or light sour cream) in its place. Makes a less soupy and much more creamy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is by far a favorite in our household. I agree that you have to cut the full amount of milk since the beans will excrete some juices and make it a tad watery. My family prefers the string beans in the can whereas I prefer the green beans that are frozen from Sam's or Costco, the large organic bag of beans. We also add some shredded colby jack to thicken it up a little more and a few chopped onions for added flavor. Be sure to 'cover' the top of your casserole with the French fried onions and bake till crispy ... it's awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina'sEast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
great classic recipe. The only thing I change is I add 4 oz cream cheese per can of soup. Makes the casserole very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Excellent. Just a note: if you used frozen green beans, heat them up in the microwave first! Also, buy the larger can of fried onions - they are great on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is great recipe that I have used for years with a few exceptions. I use 3 cans of drained green beans, 1/4 cup milk, fat free soup and don't add salt. The soup has enough salt. Just mix it all together and heat in the oven without preheating. Spray pan with cooking spray for easy clean up. Easy and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Used this as my 1st ever green bean casserole recipe. I used the other user's suggestions: #1 instead of 3/4 cup milk, I used 1/4 cup milk + 1/2 cup sour cream #2 I added 1/2 cup diced onion & 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese & #3 instead of mixing in ANY of the french fried onions, I added them all to the top for the last 5 minutes of baking. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I use 2 9oz packages of french style green beans and I buy the bigger can of onions so that I can add a little more onions. I don't eat this but my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States