Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Not only was this WAY too runny, but it was also VERY bland. I did as others suggested and cut down on the milk and substituted sour cream for part of that (used 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup sour cream), but even with this substitution, it was STILL too runny. Also, even with the added sour cream flavor, this did not have ANY flavor. I was very unimpressed. For Christmas I think I will try the "Grandma's Green Been Casserole" from this site. I went ahead and gave it two stars instead of one because with a little alteration, it might would have been edible, but as is, most of it was thrown out. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was a delicious dish after incorporating suggestions of other reviewers. I used fresh frozen green beans which I steamed for 5 min. I skipped the milk and added 1/2 cup sour cream instead. I also added 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and 1 med chopped souteed onion. I baked the above mixture as directed and I added French onions on top but did not mix them into the beans (they don't taste good if soggy). Everyone loved the dish and was asking me for the recipe. Needless to say there were no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yekaterina81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
WORKS SO MUCH BETTER WITH FROZEN GREEN BEANS. AND I ADDED DRIED RED & GREEN PEPPERS TO THIS WILL BE FIXED FOR MORE THAN JUST HOLIDAY TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was delicious!!! Made it exactly as directed and it was sooo tasty and creamy! Will be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedleo1978
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
there are better recipes out there that are a little more complex but it is well worth it. I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. Crushed corn flacks taste a lot better than the onins on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
YUMMY! We used Trader Joe's frozen haricots verts and did NOT thaw before cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I agree that this needed some flavoring. Recognizing that, I added some freshly ground pepper, salt and a little garlic powder and mixed it in. I also substituted frozen green beans (thawed) for the canned. I just cooked it at 350 degrees until it was bubbly (about 45-50 minutes), then I took it out and added the French fried onions and put it back in to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
So bland! And I even used the garlic and herb cream of mushroom soup. I don't think I will ever make green bean casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used frozen green beans and cooked them first to make them tender then mixed everything together. It turned out better than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I sauteed in halif a onion and a handful of mushrooms, and topped it with more onions cut in rings, and next time I would double both. It was pretty runny, so the sour cream replacement might be a good idea, but I really liked the sauce( we had forgotten to make gravy this year but we all preferred this sauce MUCH more than gravy) Instead of french onions, I crushed about 3/4 cup of crackers with a little butter on the top, and that was fabulous. I liked this recipe much more than I thought it would ( never had green bean casserole before) and I can't wait to play around with different versions. Like next time I might use all milk and sour cream instead of the canned soup and a 1/2 lb mushrooms instead...sounds good. Or red bell peppers...Oh, I used a 16 oz bag frozen green beans which I microwaved for 4 min beforehad...my family thoughht they were still crunchy but I thought they were perfect. If microwaving though, make sure to drain out any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States