Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Used frozen beans and cooked according to package. Used a bag of fried onions with the same effect. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a good basic recipe. I added some crumbled bacon for a little added flavor. My daughter ate 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Im not really a green bean casserole fan. Made this more to please my husband, and we both loved it. Only difference we did was we used 1/2 cup of milk based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I love this, but I didn't care for the soupy consistancy. Now, I double the green beans. Great standard dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Great and tasty recipe. I reduced the milk to a 1/4 c and added 1/2 c of sour cream for thickness and taste. I also added some sauteed onions and shredded cheddar cheese to the mix. It was the BEST green bean casserole I have ever tasted. This one's a keeper and is requested for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good! After reading a few of the reviews I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of french cut green beans, omited the salt & the milk. I replaced the milk with 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also added about a 1/3 cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese. Very good, and not soupy. I found it really didn't need any added salt to suit my tastebuds either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I used less milk and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I have never had Green Bean Casserole before but I always hear about it around the holidays so I decided to try it out. I thought I would test it out first before making it for Christmas Dinner next week. I am so glad I did!!! My brother-in-law ate with us and he has always told me Green Bean Casserole is great. He said this one was so so. My husband, sister-in-law, and myself didn't care for it at all. This recipe was very runny and that is after I reduced the milk to 1/2 cup and added about 1/4 cup grated gruyere. I will not make this again but if someone is reading this and you are still planing on making it, follow the advice from others and substitute the milk for 1/2 cup sour cream and add 1 cup grated cheese. That is the only way I could see this recipe being ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Always a good idea to read the reviews before trying a new recipe. I made the following changes and ROCKED thanksgiving with this: I cut the entire recipe in half, so double these amounts if making the full size (6 servings). Reduce milk to 1/4 cup - I used canned condensed milk, creamier. Add 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese - 3/4 to mix in, 1/4 on top with remaining onions. Use condensed cream of mushroom and roasted garlic soup. NO salt. Freaking delightful. Great reheated, too, which surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhedde

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Followed exactly as written and it was not very good at all. I have yet to find an amazing green bean casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States