Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by dianepoe
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Added chopped onion and sour cream, cut back on the milk and added shredded cheddar cheese. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianepoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was my first time making this type of recipe. All in all, not too shabby but it was missing extra flavor, so I'll opt in for some of the additions offered on here. I read reviews on salt. If you are worried about salt, grab a can of green beans that clearly states "no salt added" and check the ingredient list to make sure. Also, I grabbed a can of "reduced sodium" condensed mushroom soup. It's always better to have less salt, than more. You can put salt back in, but you can't take it out! Next time: no salt, more pepper. Also, the onions that were mixed in were a bit soggy. The crunchy ones up top were so much more delicious that I will opt for putting them all up top, like someone suggested. I will definitely try this again though, as is, it's not a bad base to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this is a great simple recipe! i make for Christmas and Thanksgiving and its a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very tastey. I too used sour cream instead of milk. Also added onion powder. used frozen beans so it took a bit londer to bake, but they were very firm, not soggy at all. did not bake with onion mixed in, only on the top at the end, then mixed them all in to serve. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Just like my moms! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panora, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this recipe for our Christmas supper. There was not one bite left and eveyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Having never tried green bean casserole I couldn't have had a better base to start with. Following the suggestions of others I added about 1/4C sour cream for some of the milk, and about a cup of cheddar cheese. I'll be making this year round whether it's a holiday or not. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was okay, nothing grand. Substitued milk for sour cream as others suggested. Still on a search for a good GBC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this as a part of the first Christmas dinner I've ever made. It was simple and good. I used cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic for more flavor, and I added onion powder to it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mknight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States