Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good! I've always used this basic recipe which is really good. This time I tweaked some using reviewers tips. I used less milk and added sour cream. That made it soooo creamy. Also used roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead of plain mushroom. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Cut milk down to 1/2 cup, use 16 oz frozen green beans, and cream of celery soup-yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is the old classic, particularly at Thanksgiving, which has probably made its way to most American tables, including ours, at one time or another. I use a 16-oz. pkg. of French-style green beans, cooked, just 1/2 cup of milk and a teaspoon of soy sauce. Five stars for its sentimental value alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
used 2/3 cup of milk and put 1 Tbs of worchestershire sauce in the mixture and after cooking it for 20 minutes grated cheddar cheese and topped the casserole and then added additional onions and then baked for 10 more minutes. Got many rave reviews. Very happy with this recipe. UPDATE..so i made this last year for thanksgiving and now i'm getting requests for this again this year!! great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
n00m n00m n00m!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicavermilye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving, and I was really pleased that the recipe was so easy after a whole evening of cooking. However, it was not a big hit at the family feast. Prior to eating, the dish needed to be reheated after traveling, and I think my host left it in the oven too long. I thought it tasted fine, but there was quite a bit left after dinner. I think it was more a matter of preference than the recipe not being tasty. I did read a few reviews and decided to substitute 1/2 cup of sour cream instead of milk, and I used one 16 oz bag of frozen french-style green beans. I will most likely give this recipe another try and just make sure to serve the dish right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Green Bean Casserole is a tradition for my thanksgiving. One year I decided to change it up a little and use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. Very good change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I went with this recipe because I didn't have the ingredients for Grandma's green bean casserole which I love and this seemed simple enough. this was not good. very plain, very watery. From the reviews, it seems to be a highly rated recipe only because of everyone's changes. Will not make again unless I want soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NidaCake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good! Will make again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States