Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Used 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup milk or as desired. Small handful of crushed french fried onions mixed in, remaining sprinkled over with 5 minutes left. Cheddar cheese optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Sooo good!!! This is the first GB casserole I ever made and the only thing I did was add a cup of mozzerella cheese! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Simple, delicious, and just like the one my mother in law makes. Easy addition to a Holiday Meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The saltiness of the canned green beans added a "sour" element to the dish I did not care for. After adding much garlic powder, cheddar cheese and a ton of onions, it was still... off somehow. I will use the recipe from the French's container next year, or use my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Babin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good! I've always used this basic recipe which is really good. This time I tweaked some using reviewers tips. I used less milk and added sour cream. That made it soooo creamy. Also used roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead of plain mushroom. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Cut milk down to 1/2 cup, use 16 oz frozen green beans, and cream of celery soup-yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is the old classic, particularly at Thanksgiving, which has probably made its way to most American tables, including ours, at one time or another. I use a 16-oz. pkg. of French-style green beans, cooked, just 1/2 cup of milk and a teaspoon of soy sauce. Five stars for its sentimental value alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
used 2/3 cup of milk and put 1 Tbs of worchestershire sauce in the mixture and after cooking it for 20 minutes grated cheddar cheese and topped the casserole and then added additional onions and then baked for 10 more minutes. Got many rave reviews. Very happy with this recipe. UPDATE..so i made this last year for thanksgiving and now i'm getting requests for this again this year!! great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
n00m n00m n00m!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicavermilye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving, and I was really pleased that the recipe was so easy after a whole evening of cooking. However, it was not a big hit at the family feast. Prior to eating, the dish needed to be reheated after traveling, and I think my host left it in the oven too long. I thought it tasted fine, but there was quite a bit left after dinner. I think it was more a matter of preference than the recipe not being tasty. I did read a few reviews and decided to substitute 1/2 cup of sour cream instead of milk, and I used one 16 oz bag of frozen french-style green beans. I will most likely give this recipe another try and just make sure to serve the dish right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States