Green Bean Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe. It was my first green bean casserole, and when I put it at the table, husband and stepdaughter asked "what is that?" I had thought it is a traditional american holiday dish.. :) I did use a bit of sour cream instead of all milk and it turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I used mostly sour cream and just a few splashes of milk to get the mixure flowing. I used frozen beans and they were more firm than the dish I remember from my youth. If you want the softer, thinner beans, go for the canned variety (French?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tango Montana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Used frozen beans and cooked according to package. Used a bag of fried onions with the same effect. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a good basic recipe. I added some crumbled bacon for a little added flavor. My daughter ate 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Im not really a green bean casserole fan. Made this more to please my husband, and we both loved it. Only difference we did was we used 1/2 cup of milk based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I love this, but I didn't care for the soupy consistancy. Now, I double the green beans. Great standard dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Great and tasty recipe. I reduced the milk to a 1/4 c and added 1/2 c of sour cream for thickness and taste. I also added some sauteed onions and shredded cheddar cheese to the mix. It was the BEST green bean casserole I have ever tasted. This one's a keeper and is requested for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good! After reading a few of the reviews I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of french cut green beans, omited the salt & the milk. I replaced the milk with 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also added about a 1/3 cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese. Very good, and not soupy. I found it really didn't need any added salt to suit my tastebuds either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I used less milk and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I have never had Green Bean Casserole before but I always hear about it around the holidays so I decided to try it out. I thought I would test it out first before making it for Christmas Dinner next week. I am so glad I did!!! My brother-in-law ate with us and he has always told me Green Bean Casserole is great. He said this one was so so. My husband, sister-in-law, and myself didn't care for it at all. This recipe was very runny and that is after I reduced the milk to 1/2 cup and added about 1/4 cup grated gruyere. I will not make this again but if someone is reading this and you are still planing on making it, follow the advice from others and substitute the milk for 1/2 cup sour cream and add 1 cup grated cheese. That is the only way I could see this recipe being ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States