Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were a big hit at Christmas dinner. Pleased my picky mother-in-law. I streched the recipe pretty far to include most of 2 lbs of green beans (cheated and used the pre-washed steam-in-bag kind) and a whole pound of bacon. I just crammed as many bundles into my baking dish as I could until the bacon ran out. I had some beans leftover, but they were mostly the broken or little puny beans. Used the best, biggest and longest beans first. Used the same quantity of marinade as the recipe calls for. Followed the marinade recipe to the letter and marinated overnight and baked in marinade too. Used low-sodium bacon and soy sauce. Flavor was savory and complemented the beans well. Would go good with beef. Lots of compliments on presentation and flavor, and no left-overs to bring home!!! Will make again, didn't think it tasted salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Good Flavor, something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These are great! I steamed the beans and marinated them overnight. Early the next day I made the bundles and put them back into the marinade. About 20 min before dinnerI put them on a sheet pan with sides and heated them in the oven. I then ran them under the broiler to crisp the bacon. Everyone loved them. They tasted great and the presentation was impressive. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Good base idea...The marinade is a tad watered down. I added another beef cube, 2 tablespoons of Balsamic, 1/2 a teaspoon of red pepper, pinch of salt and about 1/2 a cup of white wine. Then I simmered it until it thickened a bit. Marinated it in the fridge over night. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sugar & Spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My family loved this. I thought that the worchesteshire sauce would be overpowering, but no. I will be making this again in a few days for a big party at my house. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very Good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I use turkey bacon so had more substance and less fat. Also use whole green beans from can- Delmonte Blue Lake. They are always the first to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very disappointing after all the rave reviews! I made it exactly according to directions, even marinated the beans. Beans were tough & not all that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. They were delicious. I only wish I knew how to get the bacon crispier. Next time I will try baking them on a rack and basting with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Quick and easy for an elegant side dish that gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Fessenden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States