Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are so yummy that even my picky 11 year old goes back for seconds, and sometimes thirds! I've typically made them exactly as the recipe reads, but this time I skipped steaming the beans first and instead of wrapping into bundles, went ahead and fully cooked the bacon and crumbled it into the marinade. I let them marinate for about 6 hours and then baked as directed. They came out just as delicious (although not as pretty ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Giving this recipe 3 stars only because no one said they hated it, but as for me, that sauce was NOT good and I won't make it again. I will, however, do the bundles again 'cause it's a nice presentation and worked pretty well. But the sauce was a yuk with too much sugar and worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My mother used to make something similar, but she didn't like to fool with the bundles, so she would make a casserole instead. This time of year, it is difficult for me to find fresh green beans, so I used canned whole green beans - 2 cans - instead. I made it into a casserole. It was really good. Next time, in keeping with the casserole approach since I am lazy like my mother, I would definitely decrease the brown sugar, add more soy sauce, and decrease the boullion liquid using 2 cubes in a lesser amount. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montystacy93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe except I didn't tie the beans in bundles, just added the bacon to the dish. Disappointed after reading the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good. I wish I had marinated the beans overnight. Very good. I microwaved the bacon separately and then the beans and then roasted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
VERY GOOD! Here's how I made them: bought a big bag of organic frozen green beans. Put about 2lbs in a bowl in the microwave, and cooked for 5 minutes (just until they were warmed through, not really cooked). Poured the marinade over the beans, and let soak overnight in the fridge. Sliced the bacon in half length-wise (long skinny strips) and cooked until just barely light brown. Drained on paper towels, then made the bundles, tying the bacon around them (discarded marinade). Put in the 400 degree over for 10 minutes, and they were PEFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These Bean Bundles were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've been making these every Thanksgiving for years! However, I always use fresh green beans and blanch them for 3-4 minutes until bright green (faster than steaming). As a more healthy alternative toss the blanched green beans with some olive oil, a touch of dijon mustard, garlic salt & pepper. Another speedy shortcut: cook the bacon for 2-3 minutes in the microwave before wrapping around the green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I steamed the green beans the night before I needed to serve them until they were perfectly steamed. Pre-cooked the bacon about 1/2 way, wrapped the bundles, made the sauce and let them soak for about 20 hours overnight, then stuck them in the oven. The flavor was phenomenal; my only complaint (which someone else may have a solution to) was that though the green beans started looking shriveled and whitered; they were very "al dente" which some guests loved and some weren't as crazy about. This recipe is definitely a keeper though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States