Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My mother used to make something similar, but she didn't like to fool with the bundles, so she would make a casserole instead. This time of year, it is difficult for me to find fresh green beans, so I used canned whole green beans - 2 cans - instead. I made it into a casserole. It was really good. Next time, in keeping with the casserole approach since I am lazy like my mother, I would definitely decrease the brown sugar, add more soy sauce, and decrease the boullion liquid using 2 cubes in a lesser amount. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montystacy93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe except I didn't tie the beans in bundles, just added the bacon to the dish. Disappointed after reading the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good. I wish I had marinated the beans overnight. Very good. I microwaved the bacon separately and then the beans and then roasted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
VERY GOOD! Here's how I made them: bought a big bag of organic frozen green beans. Put about 2lbs in a bowl in the microwave, and cooked for 5 minutes (just until they were warmed through, not really cooked). Poured the marinade over the beans, and let soak overnight in the fridge. Sliced the bacon in half length-wise (long skinny strips) and cooked until just barely light brown. Drained on paper towels, then made the bundles, tying the bacon around them (discarded marinade). Put in the 400 degree over for 10 minutes, and they were PEFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These Bean Bundles were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've been making these every Thanksgiving for years! However, I always use fresh green beans and blanch them for 3-4 minutes until bright green (faster than steaming). As a more healthy alternative toss the blanched green beans with some olive oil, a touch of dijon mustard, garlic salt & pepper. Another speedy shortcut: cook the bacon for 2-3 minutes in the microwave before wrapping around the green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I steamed the green beans the night before I needed to serve them until they were perfectly steamed. Pre-cooked the bacon about 1/2 way, wrapped the bundles, made the sauce and let them soak for about 20 hours overnight, then stuck them in the oven. The flavor was phenomenal; my only complaint (which someone else may have a solution to) was that though the green beans started looking shriveled and whitered; they were very "al dente" which some guests loved and some weren't as crazy about. This recipe is definitely a keeper though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I make these every year for the holidays. They are fabulous. I use whole frozen green beans and steam cook them until they are still crisp. Thin sliced bacon works better than thick. Definately, marinate overnight before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I make these for almost any holiday or event. They are a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
sooo good! made it just like the recipe said. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States