Green Bean Bundles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I usually only do 5 or so green beans per bundle and cut my bacon in thirds. I don't always have time to marinate overnight. I usually sprinkle some garlic powder and pepper over as well. I know that this mentions being an appetizer, but I always have them as a side at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was excellent. Of course I used fresh beans though. I had these once in a European resort and searched for a recipe for it. This recipe was perfect. I don't think you need tothpicks though - just place them seam down. I also only put 8 in the bundle - it was easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
GREAT! I used fresh green beans, steamed then marinated in Italian dressing. Served them at a dinner party and what a hit! Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I love these guys. I prefer not to marinate overnight, but bake the bundles in the Italian dressing instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I used fresh "french" green beans (the small skinny ones). I did not pre-steam or boil them thinking that they would be small enough to cook all the way through in the oven. They were a little on the crunchy side! Also, I would recommend not putting too many in the pan. I did not leave any space in between the bundles so the bacon only got crispy on the top. I think this is a good recipe with great looking presentation and I will try making it again with the adjustments I mentioned before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPATTERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made these with fresh instead of canned and I steamed them beforehand, not as salty that way. I also only let them marinate for about 8 hours. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These are a staple around my house. (the green bean bundles with brown sugar are too) I find that it is easiest to keep a smaller container full of these marinating at all times. This helps to have them on hand for those nights when we want them and I had not planned ahead.(like a busy mom has time for that!) When I cook them, I use the 2 cans that were marinated, so I just replace them with 2 more. I never liked green beans until I discovered this recipe from my aunt. They are really addictive!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with others. It is truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Excellent! I used fresh string beans instead of canned, and I steamed them slightly first and then marinated. Since they were much longer then canned, I used a whole slice of bacon and wrapped in an upwards fashion around the middle so it looked like two or three wraps. My family loved it! They told me, "If you're inviting over someone you want to impress, make these bundles and they'll think you're a professional! Thanks for a wonderful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I use fresh green beans. Marinate them overnight in dressing, then steam/simmer for about 10 - 15 minutes and cook as directed. I love these green beans!! Fancy and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This was awesome! So simple, yet delicious. I made this for a dinner party and received raves for this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States