Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I altered this one just slightly... I used toasted walnuts rather than pecans because I had them on hand. (But I'm sure either would work fine!) And I used a garlic vinegrette dressing; I didn't measure it though, just poured enough on to coat the beans. Don't over cook the green beans; you want them to have a nice snap to them. I would suggest shocking them in ice water too so they keep a sharp green color. I served this to company last night with Orzo With Parmeasn and Basil, (from this website) and filet mignons. Everyone loved it! I'm always looking for a new type of salad and this one was marvelous! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
YUMMY - I increased the blue cheese, only "coated" the beans with oil/balsamic, and replaced pecans with walnuts. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yummy! I loved everything about this dish. Really fresh and fine taste. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
MADE THIS RECIPE LAST NIGHT. MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH LOVED IT. VERY GOOD AND A GREAT SUMMER DISH. SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was a great cold side dish for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only thing I changed was replacing 1 Tbs. of the balsamic vinegar with Apple Cider vinegar. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe was awesome. The flavor of the blue cheese and balsamic vinegar was very good. I did make a couple of changes though. Because I'm watching the fat in my diet, I eliminated the oil completely and I only had almonds on hand...just as good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These green beans were FABULOUS! I absolutely loved them and would rather eat these than the pizza we had tonight! A recipe keeper for sure. I did make a few slight changes, boiling the green beans for 5 minutes and then shocking them in cold water since I don't have a steamer. And I left the beans whole, but will probably cut them in half next time! And I did not have red onion so I used white onion and sauteed it (I do not like a heavy onion taste). Also the olive oil and vinegar is way too much in my opinion. I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and the full amount of vinegar (but red wine instead) and there was a huge puddle at the bottom of my bowl. Next time, yes there will be a next time for sure, I will use 1/8 cup oil and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
For those who complained there was too much dressing, I suggest that they should just add dressing "to taste" and save the remainder for another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Great side dish. Even better the second day. I would recommend doubling the recipe to make sure everyone gets plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a great dish. I revised the recipe slightly. I sparingly coated the beans with oil and used Balsamic spray salad dressing instead of straight Balsamic vinegar. Also, deleted the nuts. Unless you really like your food well salted, suggest you leave it out - Blue Cheese provides enough salt for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States