Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These green beans were FABULOUS! I absolutely loved them and would rather eat these than the pizza we had tonight! A recipe keeper for sure. I did make a few slight changes, boiling the green beans for 5 minutes and then shocking them in cold water since I don't have a steamer. And I left the beans whole, but will probably cut them in half next time! And I did not have red onion so I used white onion and sauteed it (I do not like a heavy onion taste). Also the olive oil and vinegar is way too much in my opinion. I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and the full amount of vinegar (but red wine instead) and there was a huge puddle at the bottom of my bowl. Next time, yes there will be a next time for sure, I will use 1/8 cup oil and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe was awesome. The flavor of the blue cheese and balsamic vinegar was very good. I did make a couple of changes though. Because I'm watching the fat in my diet, I eliminated the oil completely and I only had almonds on hand...just as good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This salad was pretty good. However, I agree it would be better to use less oil and vinegar. I loved the combination of pecans and bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
For those who complained there was too much dressing, I suggest that they should just add dressing "to taste" and save the remainder for another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Great side dish. Even better the second day. I would recommend doubling the recipe to make sure everyone gets plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
A nice change from typical beans. I boiled the beans until just tender. Next time I'll add more sliced onion and more blue cheese. For the dressing I used about 3-4 Tbs. of both the balsamic and olive oil -- it was just enough to coat the beans without puddling in the bottom of the bowl. I didn't add the nuts (we're allergic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I thought this recipes and the blended flavors were very good, however the next time I make it (and there will be lots of next times), I will not use the olive oil/balsamic vinegar for the dressing. The blue cheese tends to be strong to the point of overpowering depending on what brand you use, and I felt that the taste of the blue cheese and the balsamic vinegar were "fighting" for supremacy in this salad. I will use a light Italian, Greek or plain oil and vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yummy! I loved everything about this dish. Really fresh and fine taste. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
MADE THIS RECIPE LAST NIGHT. MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH LOVED IT. VERY GOOD AND A GREAT SUMMER DISH. SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
YUMMY - I increased the blue cheese, only "coated" the beans with oil/balsamic, and replaced pecans with walnuts. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States