Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I substituted no salt canned green beans just for personal preference--great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I reduced the olive oil to 1/4 cup, the balsamic vinegar to 3 tablespoons, and increased the blue cheese slightly, to about 1/3 cup. I also used walnuts as I didn't have pecans on hand. Plenty of salt with the cheese, so I only added black pepper. Not 5 stars since I had to make those changes, but definitely a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this for our Memorial Day get together and it was a hit. I sauteed a sliced Vidalia Onion insteead of the red onion so it would not have too strong a raw onion taste. Also, I used white balsamic vinegar so it would not change the color of the green beans, added sliced cherry tomatoes, and served the blue cheese on the side since some in our group don't like it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This salad is so seriously delicious!! I had two servings yesterday, and then ate some for breakfast today! I may try to make them with toasted almonds next time. Loved it even more the next day, but it wasn't as pretty as the balsamic color sort of took away the brightness of the green beans. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I had some just picked fresh organic green beans and wanted to make something that wouldn't cook out that fresh green bean taste. This recipe was perfect for that. I only steamed the beans for 4 minutes and blanched them in cold water to stop the cooking and kept them a pretty green. Only used 1T of homemade Italian dressing, we're not big fans of oil and vinegar. I did let chill for two hours with the dressing over the beans. Didn't add the toasted pecans until ready to serve. What a nice way to serve fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
My husband and I LOVED it. I used slightly less oil based on what other folks said and used almond slivers b/c that's what I had. A great way to eat fresh veggies without eating a hot dish in the middle of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Excellent. I substituted a combination of sauteed pecans and almonds and used crumbled goat cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
good. would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for a party and it was a hit! The only thing I didn't like was the amount of oil at the bottom of the bowl. If I made it again, I would cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Do not use all of the red onion especially if is a strong one. The whole salad as nothing but onion flavor. I will NOT being trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States