Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These green beans were FABULOUS! I absolutely loved them and would rather eat these than the pizza we had tonight! A recipe keeper for sure. I did make a few slight changes, boiling the green beans for 5 minutes and then shocking them in cold water since I don't have a steamer. And I left the beans whole, but will probably cut them in half next time! And I did not have red onion so I used white onion and sauteed it (I do not like a heavy onion taste). Also the olive oil and vinegar is way too much in my opinion. I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and the full amount of vinegar (but red wine instead) and there was a huge puddle at the bottom of my bowl. Next time, yes there will be a next time for sure, I will use 1/8 cup oil and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I thought this recipes and the blended flavors were very good, however the next time I make it (and there will be lots of next times), I will not use the olive oil/balsamic vinegar for the dressing. The blue cheese tends to be strong to the point of overpowering depending on what brand you use, and I felt that the taste of the blue cheese and the balsamic vinegar were "fighting" for supremacy in this salad. I will use a light Italian, Greek or plain oil and vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
To my surprise the flavors complemented one another very nicely. I did not love this dish but my husband and co-workers did. It was easy to make, so I will do so again. BTW - I followed another users advice and just used an Italian dressing that I liked...much easier than the oil ect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was a great cold side dish for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only thing I changed was replacing 1 Tbs. of the balsamic vinegar with Apple Cider vinegar. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was a nice way to do beans. My kids loved it I wasnt that rave about it but will make it again as 100% better than just plain old beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe was awesome. The flavor of the blue cheese and balsamic vinegar was very good. I did make a couple of changes though. Because I'm watching the fat in my diet, I eliminated the oil completely and I only had almonds on hand...just as good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
YUMMY - I increased the blue cheese, only "coated" the beans with oil/balsamic, and replaced pecans with walnuts. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yummy! I loved everything about this dish. Really fresh and fine taste. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This salad was pretty good. However, I agree it would be better to use less oil and vinegar. I loved the combination of pecans and bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
MADE THIS RECIPE LAST NIGHT. MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH LOVED IT. VERY GOOD AND A GREAT SUMMER DISH. SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States