Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These green beans were FABULOUS! I absolutely loved them and would rather eat these than the pizza we had tonight! A recipe keeper for sure. I did make a few slight changes, boiling the green beans for 5 minutes and then shocking them in cold water since I don't have a steamer. And I left the beans whole, but will probably cut them in half next time! And I did not have red onion so I used white onion and sauteed it (I do not like a heavy onion taste). Also the olive oil and vinegar is way too much in my opinion. I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and the full amount of vinegar (but red wine instead) and there was a huge puddle at the bottom of my bowl. Next time, yes there will be a next time for sure, I will use 1/8 cup oil and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe was awesome. The flavor of the blue cheese and balsamic vinegar was very good. I did make a couple of changes though. Because I'm watching the fat in my diet, I eliminated the oil completely and I only had almonds on hand...just as good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This salad was pretty good. However, I agree it would be better to use less oil and vinegar. I loved the combination of pecans and bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
For those who complained there was too much dressing, I suggest that they should just add dressing "to taste" and save the remainder for another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Great side dish. Even better the second day. I would recommend doubling the recipe to make sure everyone gets plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
A nice change from typical beans. I boiled the beans until just tender. Next time I'll add more sliced onion and more blue cheese. For the dressing I used about 3-4 Tbs. of both the balsamic and olive oil -- it was just enough to coat the beans without puddling in the bottom of the bowl. I didn't add the nuts (we're allergic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I thought this recipes and the blended flavors were very good, however the next time I make it (and there will be lots of next times), I will not use the olive oil/balsamic vinegar for the dressing. The blue cheese tends to be strong to the point of overpowering depending on what brand you use, and I felt that the taste of the blue cheese and the balsamic vinegar were "fighting" for supremacy in this salad. I will use a light Italian, Greek or plain oil and vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yummy! I loved everything about this dish. Really fresh and fine taste. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
MADE THIS RECIPE LAST NIGHT. MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH LOVED IT. VERY GOOD AND A GREAT SUMMER DISH. SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
YUMMY - I increased the blue cheese, only "coated" the beans with oil/balsamic, and replaced pecans with walnuts. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States