Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was the most wonderful side dish I've had in quite some time. I made enough for six and my husband had three helpings! I've made it twice since I found the recipe and everyone loves it. The only thing I tweaked was a little less oil & vinegar. Otherwise, it's a permanent fixture in my own recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This in a one word, FANTASTIC! My husband made this and it was amazing. So simple, so delicious with wonderful flavors. I couldn't stop nibbling! We omitted the pecans, but no worries, this is a wonderful side dish that would compliment any meal. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is great! Steam the green beans until they are done to your liking. I love balsamic and I love nuts and blue cheese. We have tried substituting other things for the red onion but believe me, the red onion is the best! I am not a fan of fresh, steamed green beans so this recipe is perfect for diets or if you just want something healthy! You must try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very good. I made it as posted for an Easter gathering and it was well received as a vegetable dish and/or salad. I do agree the oil and vinegar amounts could be cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAPIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My fiance and I both LOVED the recipe. Will definitely make it again, but will probably decrease the amount of oil and vinegar, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I altered this one just slightly... I used toasted walnuts rather than pecans because I had them on hand. (But I'm sure either would work fine!) And I used a garlic vinegrette dressing; I didn't measure it though, just poured enough on to coat the beans. Don't over cook the green beans; you want them to have a nice snap to them. I would suggest shocking them in ice water too so they keep a sharp green color. I served this to company last night with Orzo With Parmeasn and Basil, (from this website) and filet mignons. Everyone loved it! I'm always looking for a new type of salad and this one was marvelous! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a great dish. I revised the recipe slightly. I sparingly coated the beans with oil and used Balsamic spray salad dressing instead of straight Balsamic vinegar. Also, deleted the nuts. Unless you really like your food well salted, suggest you leave it out - Blue Cheese provides enough salt for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is a good, quick way to serve green beans to company. It was fresh and delicious. 4 stars because although it is yummy, I would make it only occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I love these flavor combinations. I had to get some more fresh green beans today to make more. This is really delicious the 2nd day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This looked better than it tasted. Some salt should be added while boiling the beans. The concept was good though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States