Green Bean Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It was ok,I was in a hurry and didnt read the reviews, and followed exactly the receipe and was not so good, to much olive oil, didnt like the blue cheese on it, e still enjoyed the green beans, but probably not gonna do it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great recipe....I added the blue cheese while the beans were still warm so it melted. I added some finely chopped portobello mushrooms that had been soaked in balsamic vinegar and chopped some dulce to add minerals and salt flavour. Agreed one tbsp of olive oil is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made this today and it was a hit. I did add about a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to the dressing as my family likes a lot of flavor but I think it would have been great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
OK.....beans turn darker with vinegar. don't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very good side salad for a barbecue! As others have stated, there's no need for so much dressing: I only used 2T olive oil and 1T vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a hit for Easter dinner. Made a few modifications based upon other reviewers suggestions, but nothing earth shattering. 1. used feta instead of blue cheese purely on accident 2. added the vinegar and oil tablespoon by tablespoon until was the right amount...recipe way too much. used equal amounts of each. 3. sauteed the onions and nuts (i used almonds as I had on hand) before adding to salad 4. finally, added some salad seasoning...needed a bit more flavor for my taste 5. added some halved grape tomatoes...add some nice flavor and great color All these changes are pretty superficial though...this is a great recipe all on its own. Loved that you could prepare entirely ahead of time and not worry about it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Nice! The oil can be cut WAY back - to 1-2T, but ths is a really tasty combo. I added a little fresh basil and really like Christina's idea of adding tomato so I may try that next time, but this is great as is (minus a lot of the oil - why throw it out?). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was yummy! I used frozen french-style green beans and cooked them as directed on the package and let them cool. I omitted the pecans because I didn't have any and added grape tomatoes, marinated garbanzo beans and some garlic powder. I also reduced the amount of olive oil to make it healthier and was glad I did because I don't think all of that oil was really necessary. I can't wait to try this again with the pecans as I know it will be even better! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Ok, this might be how we eat green beans for the rest of the summer! This is great, the blue cheese gives such a nice tangy creaminess. I substituted some things simply because what I had on hand. Used scallions instead of red onion and almonds instead of pecans. I also cut back on the oil and vinegar. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Love this simple recipe. I love to serve at room temperature. Great for a summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States