Green Bean Artichoke Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The votes are in! This dish is absolutely awesome! 5 stars is not even enough. We ate it as a main course, and there was plenty to go around with leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I think that even my uncle who hates green beans would really like this dish. We didn't add any salt because the cheese gave it plenty flavor. Because we were running late and extra hungry, we started the casserole cooking in the microwave for 10 minutes while preheating the oven. After putting it in the oven, continued cooking it for 10 minutes with it foil covered. Then 15 minutes uncovered as directed. We will definitely be making this again :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
My entire family loves stuffed artichokes. As you know, making them can be very time consuming, so I made this recipe instead and it does taste just like a stuffed artichoke!!!!! EVERYONE loved it and came back for seconds. I think the use of the french style string beans provided the softer texture like the inside of the artichoke leaves and the artichoke hearts provided their usual firm deliciousness. I did add 1/2 can of the artichoke water but I'm not convinced it made a difference. But the final result was awesome. I also added a little lemon juice, about 1 tablespoon to the bean mixture. It gave it that little lemon freshness that my family is used to in stuffed artichokes. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fyrwyf
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
More motz & some artichoke juice and it would be perfect!! Made it for the first time on Easter Sunday and it was gone!! Huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Really big hit. I used a 16 oz bag of frozen French-cut green beans, 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs, 1 tablespoon of garlic power, and 4 oz of Parmesan cheese. I did add a little water to the pan after everything was assembled. And I sprinkled some breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was good, but there were too many soggy breadcrumbs and it gave the dish an unpleasant texture for me. The flavors were very good though, similar to stuffed artichoke as others mentioned. Perhaps 4 stars with far less breadcrumbs, and next time I'd use butter not oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I agree too much breading...I cut it down to 1 1/2 cups and I still thought it was too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was ok but could be improved upon. Ithink next time I will omit the mozzarella because it made it stringy, maybe add a little milk and yogurt for creaminess. I followed the other reviewers advice and used only one cup of breadcrumbs. Definitely stick with the artichokes in water--we usually love the marinated ones but they were NOT good in this dish--too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very good recipe, but it was very rich. I reduced bread crumbs and added some artichoke brine based on comments from others. After making those changes, I think next time I will use a little less cheese. I love a cheesy dish, but I would have preferred for the veggies to shine through a little more. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My mother makes a version of this - she uses frozen artichokes and frozen green beans. If you use canned, rinse them before baking to get that tin taste out. Start with 1 cup bread crumbs and mix the olive oil along first before adding to veggies. It's addictive! :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was really good. My family loved it. I followed the advise of others and used juice from the artichokes. The only thing I would change is I would cut back on the bread crumbs just a bit and add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States