Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had made banana fries before I found this posting, and I want to add that for people who must monitor their blood glucose, green bananas have resistant starch which is less likely to elevate bg. I have type 2 diabetes, and I have eaten as many as three bananas prepared this way - all within 2 or 3 hours' time, and never suffered a spike in blood glucose. They are delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Yum, Amazing! With a little ketchup, you couldn't tell the difference! Be sure to use small green bananas, and cut them really thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I fried these in olive oil to make them even more healthy. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Thanks so much for sharing! I made these for my family because they LOVE french fries and I am trying to get them to eat better. My partner has not had fries in over a month and so she felt there was no difference in taste other than a mild sweetness. And I do mean mild. Best advice, make sure your oil is heated well and also that you place fries in the oil one at a time to avoid sticking. We salted and peppered and they were great and low fat/low cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This is an excellent french fries substitute. I am not a banana person I don't like the flavor at all. These taste like french fries if you get the small green bananas. I know some people can't have potatoes ie arthritis or just dieting. It's worth it. They may seem a little more dense but add a dash of salt and they'll be gone really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Quite curious, it is also prepared as a side dish in the northern part of Colombia (cities that run along the Atlantic Coast). The tricky part, peeling the unripe (green bananas). Might recommend you do it under running hot/warm water. Watch out for your clothes, the slime will stain them for good. Cut the tips off, use your knife to cut through the outer skin, use the knife's tip to slowly remove it. Cut the fries and place in a container that has water and salt, this will prevent them from taking a brown color. When ready to place in the hot oil take out and pat dry. Unripe bananas are also great to use in soups or simply boiled and served hot, mashed with farmers cheese and some butter. Salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Yummy! We loved these fries - especially the kids. I fried them in peanut oil and sprinkled with salt. Then, served them with Ranch dressing for dipping. Very different and a nice change of pace from potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Shimberg
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love love love these! Everyone I serve them to cannot believe they aren't potatoes! The riper the better! All I do is thinly slice the bananas, spray a pan with pam then spray some pam on top of the bananas and sprinkle some salt on them, pop them in the oven for 10 mins, then flip to the other side for 10 mins, and all done! Delicious and a super healthy and low calorie alternative to french fries. Thanks so much Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
so simple and delish! there's still a hint of banana taste, but coupled with a little salt it creates an interesting and irresistible combination (kind of reminds me of fried plantains...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Mmmm. This is really good. The bananas I used were probably not green enough, but still turned out well. Didn't even serve with any sauce (ketchup/ranch), plenty good on own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States