Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good! I used Safflower oil and they were great... I didn't have any problems with them sticking together or anything- I think it has to do with how many you put in the oil at a time. I'll definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Thanks so much for sharing! I made these for my family because they LOVE french fries and I am trying to get them to eat better. My partner has not had fries in over a month and so she felt there was no difference in taste other than a mild sweetness. And I do mean mild. Best advice, make sure your oil is heated well and also that you place fries in the oil one at a time to avoid sticking. We salted and peppered and they were great and low fat/low cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I'm going to make this for my little one for sure...they taste like potatoe fries (maybe it should be credited Kenya Fries like the French got credit for potatoe fries) I let em sit in the oil for a bit too long but they still taste great. The salt is optional for the those watching their salt intake like me (ms. pregnant)taste great with or without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
There were definitely yummy. I loved the flavor, but they were too greasy and I prefer my fries to be crispier. I fried them in a deep skillet of oil and waited until they were a dark golden brown, but they were still flimsy which made it more difficult to sop up the oil. Also, they stuck together a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I was really excited to make this recipe and a little disappointed based on the other reviews. I could definitely tell these weren't regular fries. Salt and ketchup helped, but then again it also masked the flavor. These are interesting to make, but not exactly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My grandkids and us adults loved these, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I fried these in olive oil to make them even more healthy. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wow - these are wild!!!! I don't eat much in the way of fried food but these were a hoot to make. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Really good. Tastes a lot like fried plantains, but with fewer calories. One of these days I'm going to make both the fried bananas and the tostones (fried green plaintains) and try then side by side so I can know for sure what the taste differences are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Yum, Amazing! With a little ketchup, you couldn't tell the difference! Be sure to use small green bananas, and cut them really thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States