Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I'm not exactly sure I made these correctly. I bought what I thought were green bananas, and they aren't ripe to eat right now, but they peeled okay so maybe they are too ripe for this recipe? I don't know, so if they didn't turn out right, it's my fault. They weren't bad, they just sort of tasted like . . .well, fried bananas. Which I guess I should have expected. I really liked them with a lot of salt, so that was good. Bf was not very impressed with these, but they looked a lot like fried plantains to me, and he is not a fan of those at all. If I get really green bananas, I'll try these again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I was slightly skeptical but they came out fabulous and they taste just like fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Really good! We used canola oil. Great alone or with ketchup or ranch. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had made banana fries before I found this posting, and I want to add that for people who must monitor their blood glucose, green bananas have resistant starch which is less likely to elevate bg. I have type 2 diabetes, and I have eaten as many as three bananas prepared this way - all within 2 or 3 hours' time, and never suffered a spike in blood glucose. They are delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were awesome! After I cut the bananas, I put them in a covered bowl in the fridge for a couple hours. Right before I was about to deep fry them, our power went out! So, although worried they would get bad, I waited until the next day to try these. They turned out great! The only problem I had was with them sticking together. They were mushy, but it didn't matter. We just salted them and dipped them in ketchup, but used a fork to eat them. They taste just like french fries, but with a small hint of banana for an aftertaste. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent! i made these for my lady and she just loved them, a great alternitive to potato frie, i have a deep fryer so they fried up perfectly golden brown, thanks for sharing this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I am surprised; I was skeptical of these because I HATE green bananas. But they were delicious! I really couldn't tell them from regular fries, except that the texture of these was nicer than potato fries. I will be making these on a regular basis-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe was so intriguing; I just had to try them out. It's funny, the whole time they're frying, you're anticipating a good, crispy french fry. Then you taste it, and are surprised by the mild banana taste. My coworkers are dieting and they haven't had french fries in over two months, but I bet they would appreciate this recipe. I'll be passing this one onto my health-conscious friends, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These were great. I do not like bananas but, for some reason, wanted to try these. These were delicious! I look forward to trying them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I wasn't able to find any bananas at the grocery store that were green, so I just settled for partially green. I used 3 bananas instead of 5 and 2 cups of olive oil instead of 1 quart. This is one of the tastiest, healthiest recipes I've came upon that I actually am eager to keep making! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by disneylover111

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States